Finding a TopicHow to SearchFind BooksFind E-BooksFind Articles (Basic)Find Articles (Advanced)Find ImagesIdentify and EvaluateScholarly vs. PopularPrimary vs. SecondaryCitationsPlagiarism
Culture in Colonial America
This is the "Welcome" page of the "ENG 231 - American Literature I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 231 - American Literature I  

This course covers selected works in American literature from its beginnings to 1865. Emphasis is placed on historical background, cultural context, and literary analysis of selected prose, poetry, and drama.
Last Updated: Dec 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.rccc.edu/ENG231 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

Reference Assistance:
(704) 216-3680 (North)
(704) 216-3683 (South)
(704) 216-7140 (NCRC)

Hours:
North and South:
Mon.-Thurs  7:45 am to 7:00 pm
Fri.              9:00 am to 1:00 pm

NCRC:
Mon.-Thurs.     8:00 am to 7:00 pm
Fri.                    9:00 am to 1:00 pm

Information Commons closes fifteen minutes before LRC closing time.

 

Books from the Catalog

Cover Art
American Literature from 1600 Through the 1850s - Adam Augustyn (Editor)
Call Number: PS 185 .A395 2011
ISBN: 9781615301249
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Fiercely nationalistic in their espousal of independence and, later, their critique of democracys shortcomings and faith in their newfound nations potential, the first prominent American writers exhibited a profound pride in the territory that would come to be known as the United States. Predating even the Declaration of Independence, much early American writing entailed commentary on the newly developing American society. As it evolved from political to literary in nature, American writing increasingly began to distinguish itself on the world stage. This volume examines the literature of the country in its nascence and writers such as Poe, Hawthorne, and Emerson, who helped cultivate a uniquely American voice.

Cover Art
Women and Authorship in Revolutionary America - Angela Vietto
Call Number: PS 149 .V54 2005
ISBN: 9780754653387
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
In distinct contrast to earlier studies on early US women's authorship, this book argues that women writers in Revolutionary America viewed civic participation as a key component of the social role of authorship, and that they used authorship as a means to contribute publicly to the evolving creation of the new nation's political and social identities.Angela Vietto here analyzes poetry, letters, religious texts, essays and plays by early American writers Mercy Otis Warren, Sarah Osborn and Susanna Anthony, Hannah Adams, Eunice Smith, Jenny Fenno, Sarah Pogson Smith, Judith Sargent Murray and Hannah Griffitts, among others.

Cover Art
American Literature - William E. Cain
Call Number: PS 507 .A5753 2004 V. 1
ISBN: 0321116232
Publication Date: 2004-02-09
As part of the Penguin Academic series, American Literature offers a wide array of authors from Christopher Columbus to Rebecca Harding Davis. In addition to many poems, stories, and essays, it includes the complete texts of Mary Rowlandson's captivity narrative, Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter," Frederick Douglass's salve narrative, and Herman Melville's "Benito Cereno."

 

American Literature I

American literature is the written or literary work produced in the area of the United States and its preceding colonies. During its early history, America was a series of British colonies on the eastern coast of the present-day United States. Therefore, its literary tradition begins as linked to the broader tradition of English literature. However, unique American characteristics and the breadth of its production usually now cause it to be considered a separate path and tradition.

This course covers selected works in American literature from its beginnings to 1865. Emphasis is placed on historical background, cultural context, and literary analysis of selected prose, poetry, and drama. Upon completion, students should be able to interpret, analyze, and respond to literary works in their historical and cultural contexts.


Bittle, Jade. "American Literature I." Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, 2013. PDF.

Websites

  • American Literature to 1820
    Follow this online study guide from the Norton Anthology of American Literature for more information about certain writers and the time period up to 1820.
  • American Literature from 1820-1865
    Follow this online study guide from the Norton Anthology of American Literature for more information about certain writers and the time period up to 1865.
  • American Writiers
    C-SPAN explores American history through the lives and works of American writers who have influenced the course of our nation.
  • Early American Women Writers
    This site contains head-notes, information, and scholarly biographies about the early women writers of America.
  • Early Americas Digital Archive
    This site held by the University of Maryland is searchable and includes "electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820."
 

Early American Literature

This video is available to RCCC students, faculty, and staff through our Films on Demand database. For username and password, please contact the LRC.

Contact Numbers:
(704) 216-3680 (North)
(704) 216-3683 (South)
(704) 216-7140 (NCRC)

Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Walker
Contact Info
Librarian
North Campus
jenny.walker@rccc.edu
(704) 216-3693
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Tim Hunter
Contact Info
Coordinator-Library Services
South Campus
timothy.hunter@rccc.edu
Phone: 704-216-3694
Fax: 704-788-2169
Send Email
 

Ask Us!

Need help with Research?  Chat with a Librarian 24 hours a day.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip