Finding a TopicHow to SearchFind BooksFind E-BooksFind Articles (Basic)Find Articles (Advanced)Find Images and VideosGoogle SearchingIdentify & EvaluateScholarly vs. PopularPrimary vs. SecondaryCitationsPlagiarismOff-Campus Access
This is the "Welcome" page of the "ENG 273 - African American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 273 - African American Literature  

This course provides a survey of the development of African- American literature from its beginnings to the present.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.rccc.edu/aalit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other Guides of Interest on this Topic

 

Welcome

 

Reference Assistance:
(704) 216-3680 (North)
(704) 216-3683 (South)
(704) 216-7140 (NCRC)

Hours:
North and South:
Mon.-Thurs  7:45 am to 7:00 pm
Fri.              Closed

NCRC:
Mon.-Thurs.     8:00 am to 6:00 pm
Fri.                    Closed

Information Commons closes fifteen minutes before LRC closing time.

Norton Anthology of African American Literature

African American literature, body of literature written by Americans of African descent. Beginning in the pre-Revolutionary War period, African American writers have engaged in a creative, if often contentious, dialogue with American letters. The result is a literature rich in expressive subtlety and social insight, offering illuminating assessments of American identities and history. Although since 1970 African American writers, led by Toni Morrison, have earned widespread critical acclaim, this literature has been recognized internationally as well as nationally since its inception in the late 18th century.

 

  

 Editions located in the LRC-IC

 

Search NCLIVE

Search NC LIVE

NC LIVE

Databases

  • African American Poetry
    Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more
  • American Poetry
    Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.
  • Films on Demand
    State-of-the-art streaming video platform containing films on a variety of topics, including writing and literature.
  • Literature Criticism Online  Icon
    Contains the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
  • Literary Reference Center Plus
    Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Magazines and journals on many subjects; includes peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
  • MasterFILE Complete
    General magazines, journals, and newspapers covering many subjects. Includes peer-reviewed.
  • Biography Reference Center
    More than 450,000 biographies, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, scientists and many others.
  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries  Icon
    Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
  • Twentieth Century African American Poetry
    62 of the most important poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

Librarian

Profile Image
Tim Hunter
Contact Info
Coordinator-Library Services
South Campus
timothy.hunter@rccc.edu
Phone: 704-216-3694
Fax: 704-788-2169
Send Email
 

Ask Us!

Need help with Research?  Chat with a Librarian 24 hours a day.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

African American Review - Latest Articles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip