Information literacy is a set of abilities requiring individuals to “recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate,and use effectively the needed information.”
Information literacy forms the basis for lifelong learning. It is common to all disciplines, to all learning environments, and to all levels of education. It enables learners to master content and extend their investigations, become more self-directed, and assume greater control over their own learning. An information literate individual is able to:
Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education are available for downloading at: http://www.ala.org/acrl/issues/infolit/overview/intro.
Abstract - A summary of an article written by the author that typically appears as a paragraph at the beginning of the article
Article - A piece of writing that forms part of a publication. Newspapers, magazines, journals, and encyclopedias all contain articles
Bias - Relates to the purpose of info and how much the writer intends to persuade the reader; can be found in the presentation of info or in degree of detail and accuracy included
Bibliography - A list of articles, books, web sites, or other sources of info used in your writing
Book - A publication that has its own title and is fifty pages or longer
Catalog - An online database used to find books, journals, and other sources of info
Citation/Reference - A brief description of a piece of writing that provides enough info to locate the piece of writing by identifying the author, title, and providing other details about the publication
Cite -To refer to a piece of writing, an author, or a source of info
.com -Part of a web address that indicates the web site is commercial or owned by a for-profit organization
Credentials - Personal qualifications and achievements that can be quoted as evidence of one's trustworthiness, competence, etc
Critical Thinking - Being able to use logic and objectivity when considering an argument, data, or other evidence
Database - An electronically searchable collection of indo
.edu - Part of a web address that indicates the web site is owned by an American educational institution
Evidence - Info or data that provides reasons to believe something; facts suggesting that something is true or accurate
Encylcopedia - Published book or books containing short articles that summarize knowledge about a topic.
Full Text - Indicated the entire article is available in a database
Index - An alphabetical list at the back of a book that identifies main ideas, people, places, etc that appear in the book with the page number OR an electronic finding aid that organizes articles from a collection of journals and categorizes them according to specific keywords
Interlibrary Loan -The library borrowing service available to students and faculty when what you need is not in the Lane Library collection
Limiter - In database searching, it is possible to specify search criteria to make search results more relevant or useful
Objective - When used in the context of evaluating info, indicates that info is without biases and is not distorted by emotion
.org - Part of a web address that indicates the web site is owned by an organization other than one that is commercial, educational, military, or government sponsored
Peer/Scholarly/Refereed Review - The process scholarly publishers employ for insuring that articles contain value contributions to disciplinary literature, especially in academics
Periodical - A publication that retains the same name and is issued at regular intervals
Proprietary - "Of, relating to, or belonging to property or proprietors"
Reference Resources - on-fictional dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, almanacs, and some literary criticism resources; first floor of Lane
Results List - The list of items that appears when performing a search in a database, catalog, or search engine
Table of Content - Found at the front of a book or periodical, the table of contents lists the chapters in a book, or articles in a periodical, along with page numbers and other citation info
Wikipedia -The vast, online, free-content repository of articles on almost anything and is not considered a reliable source of info for academic work
Do you have an in-depth research question? Would you like to work with a librarian in private? Do you want to talk to the librarian who taught your class?
Our librarians are happy to help you find and learn the best research databases for your subject, efficiently navigate services such as Article & Book Delivery and any other research questions you have.
Contact us to make an appointment today!
Before using information found on a web page for your research project, consider the following criteria to evaluate its credibility.
You may have a higher quality Web page that could be of value to your research: