Research Guides: Communications: Intercultural Business Communication

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands

Morrison, T., & Conaway, W. A. (2006). Kiss, bow, or shake hands : the bestselling guide to doing business in more than 60 countries / Terri Morrison and Wayne A. Conaway. Avon, Mass. : Adams Media, c2006.

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Asia by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway This volume explores how people from various cultures perceive information and negotiate business deals. It covers topics such as gift-giving, value systems, cognitive styles and personal space.
Call Number: HF 5389.3 .L3 M67 2007
ISBN: 159869216X
Publication Date: 2006-11-15
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Latin America by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway This volume explores how people from various cultures perceive information and negotiate business deals. It covers topics such as gift-giving, value systems, cognitive styles and personal space.
Call Number: HF 5389.3 .L3 M67 2007
ISBN: 1598692178
Publication Date: 2006-11-15
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Europe by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway This volume explores how people from various cultures perceive information and negotiate business deals. It covers topics such as gift-giving, value systems, cognitive styles and personal space.
Call Number: HF 5389 .M67 2007
ISBN: 9781598692181
Publication Date: 2007-02-12
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway Your Passport to International Business Etiquette The most authoritative and comprehensive text of its kind, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition is your must-have guide to proper international business protocol. With countries such as China and India taking on a more significant role in the global business landscape, you can't afford not to know the practices, customs, and philosophies of other countries. Now fully revised, updated, and expanded with over sixty country profiles, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition provides invaluable information on how to handle common business interactions with grace, respect, and an appreciation for different cultures.
Call Number: HF 5389 .M67 2006
ISBN: 1593373686
Publication Date: 2006-07-24

Two Minute Video

The American Bar Association invited Terri Morrison to participate on a panel titled "Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: Doing Business Around the World." The panel was comprised of attorneys from Argentina, Nigeria, South Korea, Israel, and Canada. The entire event is available on Fora.tv. Here is a preview.

Terri Morrison on Commonplace Business Faux Pas from American Bar Association Section of International Law on FORA.tv

Databases to Country and Culture Research

ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
US Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
InfoBase Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
CQ Researcher
A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Cultural Dimensions

Hofstede's Cultural Dimensions: Understanding Workplace values around the world Highlights a model of cultural dimensions that has become an internationally recognized standard. With access to people working for the same organization in over 40 countries of the world, Hofstede collected cultural data and analyzed his findings. He initially identified four distinct cultural dimensions that served to distinguish one culture from another. Later he added a fifth dimension and that is how the model stands today. He scored each country using a scale of roughly 0 to 100 for each dimension. The higher the score, the more that dimension is exhibited in society.

Features of the Country

CIA World Factbook Produced by the CIA of the U.S. Government, the World Factbook offers information for 266 world entities. This information covers topics such as: history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, & transnational issues. This resources also shows you country flags, regional maps, and allows you to perform country to country comparisons.
State Department Background Sheets Provides country overviews and links to country studies created by the Library of Congress.
Infoplease:The World Links to statistical information and more on various countries.

Business Etiquette

International Business Etiquette, Manners & Culture As global business continues to expand and bring everyone closer, the critical element of a successful business outcome may be the appreciation and respect for regional, country, and cultural differences - known as cultural diversity and requiring good intercultural communication. In these pages you will find a wealth of information and resources on international business etiquette and manners.
Business Etiquette Tips For International Travel Forbes article that highlights ettiquette for widely traveled countries
World Business Culture Each country profile contains information on a range of topics of immediate commercial relevance to anybody working in a global organisation or studying international trade.
Kwintessential Doing Business in Guides Country etiquette guides, Intercultural articles, Business articles & Intercultural business communication

Books

Do's and Taboos Around the World by Roger E. Axtell; Parker Pen Company Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF 5387 D66 1985
ISBN: 0875021638
Publication Date: 1985-01-01

Streaming Video

Films on Demand

Communicating in India: International Business Communication (48:00) India is now a major player in the economic market. This video answers some of the important questions that arise as we seek to develop ties there. Among those addressed are: What are the advantages of understanding our Indian neighbors? What role does religion play in communication within India? Are the issues of equality or inequality to be observed? What aspects of protocol are important? What are the common business practices? The presenter is Dr. Jessica Stowell, coordinator of the University of Oklahoma’s Institute for Teaching East Asia and associate director of the Confucius Institute. (48 minutes) Item Number: 49178 © 2012
Communicating with the Chinese: International Business Communication (35:00) In today’s world, economic and financial factors dictate the need to communicate with our international counterparts. With the enormous growth of its economy and its increasing business and diplomatic connections with the United States, China commands primary consideration in the 21st century. However, our ability to communicate with this emerging economic power is hampered by our divergent cultures and distinctly different views on the role of communication. Dr. Jessica Stowell, coordinator of the University of Oklahoma’s Institute for Teaching East Asia and associate director of the Confucius Institute, explains the Chinese concept and use of communication—and identifies the approach and skills needed to communicate in this international arena. (35 minutes) Item Number: 49176 © 2007
Communicating in Latin America: International Business Communication (37:00) This program considers the Latin American market, exploring the important approaches and skills necessary to establish business relationships in our neighboring region to the south—while also examining variations in approach and culture within the Latin American world. The presenter is Rodger Randle, professor of human relations at the University of Oklahoma and director of the Center for Studies in Democracy and Culture. (37 minutes) Item Number: 49177 © 2008
Business Culture: India—Global Business (30:11) Business Culture: India uses a Q&A format to teach the basics of doing business in India. Understanding cultural differences is key to participating in the global economy. Topics include language, attire, and etiquette.
Business Culture: China—Global Business (27:11) Business Culture: China uses a Q&A format to teach the basics of doing business in China. Understanding cultural differences is key to participating in the global economy. Topics include language, attire, and etiquette.
Business Culture: Mexico—Global Business (23:07) Business Culture: Chin uses a Q&A format to teach the basics of doing business in Mexico. Understanding cultural differences is key to participating in the global economy. Topics include language, attire, and etiquette.
Business Culture: Japan—Global Business (21:19) Business Culture: Japanese business executives use a Q&A format to teach the basics of doing business in Japan. Understanding cultural differences is key to participating in the global economy. Topics include language, attire, etiquette.

Current Events Websites

BBC
Unbiased world news from the British Broadcasting Service.
United Nations
Welcome to the United Nations. It's Your World.
NPR
National Public Radio gives clear unbiased news from around the world.

Communications: Intercultural Business Communication

New All-in-One Search