chat loading...
Skip to main content

Economics: Web Resources

Data Sources

Link to FRED

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Database) is the database of The Research Division of the Federal Reserve bank and is updated regularly. Economic and financial literature concentrated in the areas of macroeconomics, international and regional economics, money, and banking, is monitored by the division. Changing economic trends, economic policy, and relevant issues are addressed and updates are made to the database regularly.

Link to data.gov

Data.gov has free, publicly available data that is accessible by anyone and can be used without restriction. The site contains information about resources across the government.

link to FedStats 

FedStats has extensive official statistical information produced by the Federal Government. Over 100 government agencies trend information and submit data on economic trends, crime, education, health care, energy use, etc. 

 

Link to UNdata

UNdata is an aggregate database from the United Nations Statistical Division. Country profiles and glossaries with themes on Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators are provided in over 60 milllion data points. 

link to BEA

The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) of the U.S. Department of Commerce provides national, international, regional, and industry economic accounts data that is relevant, accurate, and current.

link to NBER

NBER conducts economic research and disseminates research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. Focal points of NBER research include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.

link to the world bank data catalog

The World Bank Data Catalog lists available World Bank datasets, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.

link to BLS

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor collects, analyses, and disseminates labor market and economic information such inflation & prices, employment, unemployment, employment projections, pay & benefits, spending, productivity, occupational requirements, regional resources, etc.  

link to ICPSR data archive

ICPSR is an international consortium of over 750 academic institutions, research organizations, foundations, and U.S. statistical agencies. Their data archive has more than 250,000 files in 21 specialized collections of specific topics such education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism and others.

link to U.S. Census Bureau

The Census Bureau offers a wide variety of data resources, largely microdata, for applied social science research.

link to FBI: UCR page

The FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program produces publications based on data submitted by over 18,000 law enforcement agencies that is made available to the public.

link to economagic

Economagic compiled a list of dataset links from various government and independent sources.  

Economist Blogs

SEC Edgar

S.E.C.

Useful Websites

Bloomberg logo

Bloomberg has up-to-date news and information on markets, technology, politics, and opinion columns. Bloomberg also has an economics blog and a Youtube channel.

Wall Street Journal logo

The Wall Street Journal provides business and economic centric material. Their Real Time Economics section offers exclusive news, analysis and commentary on the U.S. and global economy, central bank policy and economics. Full text articles are available through the database and videos are available on their Youtube channel.

The Economist logo

The Economist offers news and information on both domestic and international business and economics. They host several blogs (including The Economist Explains), have an excellent Youtube Channel, and full text access is available through the journal database.

Financial Times logo

Financial Times profiles companies, markets, politics, and personal finance. They host a few blogs and podcasts for economics and finance, as well as a Youtube channel. Full Access to its articles can be accessed without a subscription through the journal database

Federal Reserve Bank of Ricmond logo

The Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond offers materials such as regional economic information for the Carolinas, market trends & statistics, and data & analysis.

 

federal Reserve Bank of New York logo

The Federal Reserve Bank of New York does much the same as the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. The site offers data & statistics, markets & policy implementation, and economic research material.

Brookings Institute logo

The Brookings Institute is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. They conduct research into the U.S. economy as well education and politics. 

Library of Economics and Liberty logo

The Library of Economics and Liberty provides articles, encyclopedia entries, and research guides.  

Macroeconomics Fairmodeling

Economic Societies and Associations

American Economic Association logo

The AEA was established in 1885 and is a scholarly, non-profit, non-partisan association that has dedicated itself to economic research and career enhancing services for economists. Their website has links for open jobs and other resources; such as data sets.

The American Finance Association Logo

The AFA is an academic organization committed to promoting financial economic knowledge and publishes The Journal of Finance

american bankers association logo

The ABA’s website has a tab for tools & resources that include infographics, economic information, and a job bank.  

E.E.F.S. logo

The European Economics and Finance Society offers some online journal articles at no cost.

national association for business economics logo

The National Association for Business Economics organizes a variety of “Roundtables” that their members can join and contribute to. 

royal economic society logo

The Royal Economic Society, formerly the British Economic Association, was founded in 1890 “to promote the study of economic science”. It offers career resources, data resources, job postings, and resources for funding for economists.

E.D.I.R.C. logo

EDIRC has links to IDEAS, papers, articles, and has aggregated links to Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers around the World.