chat loading...
Skip to main content

ENG 112 - Writing/Research in the Disc: Annotated Bibliography - Issues in Your Career

This course, the second in a series of two, introduces research techniques, documentation styles, and writing strategies. Emphasis is placed on analyzing information and ideas and incorporating research findings into documented writing and research projec

All-in-One Search

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

Loading ...

Thinking About Your Topic

For your chosen career, you need to find researchable aspects. 

Be willing to broaden, narrow, or modify your topic in order to find the current, hot, or debatable issues in your field.

Here are some common issues in many (not all) occupations:

technology sustainability diversity in the field/population served
global issues climate change aging of the population/people in the field
harrassment/bullying/violence mental health

issues with fast growth or shortages in the field

ethics LGBTQ issues

artificial intelligence

freelance issues business on the Web marketing on the Web
intellectual property (copyright, plagiarism, patents, etc.)    

 


Other things to keep in mind:

 

Occupation Issues that Impact Two Aspects/Sides/Approaches per Issue Source
  I. A.  
    B.  
  II. A.  
    B.  
  III. A.  
    B.  

 

Using eLibrary Careers to find Issues and Articles

logo for elibrary careers

Using Occupational Outlook Handbook to Help Find Issues

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2018-2019 (Occupational Outlook Handbook (Paper-Bernan))

Using Ferguson's Career Guidance Center to Help Find Issues

 

 

Library Instruction Survey

The Assignment - ENG112 Annotated Bibliography

Within every profession, there are ongoing controversial conversations that directly impact the field. There are some controversies that are so "hot" that they are in the public conversation, for example. If I am in an Academic profession, but I know that in the Criminal Justice field, the topic of Immigration is very prominent right now,  even though I don't know the details beyond the media coverage. Therefore, I would not be a credible voice within the immigration conversation without further research. This is your opportunity to take the major/field/career that you acknowledged in the Introductory letter, and begin to dig into the "hot" debates that are taking place within that field/profession. 

For this assignment, your place is not to choose a side, but to uncover 3 of these issues in an APA formatted annotated bibliography.  In order to make sure you are presenting credible voices, this assignment calls for 2 scholarly sources per issue (so three separate issues and 2 sources per issue, totaling 6 total sources).

NOTE: When looking at the sources, make sure you are uncovering different sides of the issues to remain unbiased. You will submit this assignment here in this assignment forum. It is highly suggested that you begin with the library's databases of academic journals to begin the research (this was taught in ENG-111, if you need additional help in navigating this resource contact the tutoring center).

Suggested Databases

Know Your Sources

Loading ...