Research Guides: Humanities: Find Articles

Remote Access

If you are accessing these resources off campus, you will need to log in. Use your BlackBoard username and password to log in. If you need further assistance, please go to our Remote Access help page.

- Username: lastname.firstinitial.last 5 of your student id

- Password: blackboard password

Flipster - Online Magazines

Investigative Reporting

ProPublica: Investigative journalism focusing on public trust.

Real Clear Investigations: Trusted investigative reports aggregated.

News Websites

Axios: Short introductions to current topics with very little bias.

BBC: An array of topics without a U.S. centric focus.

NPR: Listen to articles and podcasts or read available articles.

PBS News Hour: Up to date current events.

Southern Literary Journals

The library offers these Southern Literary Journals online through our databases:

Appalachian Heritage

Carolina Quarterly

James Dickey Review

Mississippi Quarterly: The Journal of Southern Culture

South Carolina Review

Southern Review

Virginia Quarterly Review

Databases

Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
CQ Researcher
A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
DigitalNC
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers.
African-American Poetry
Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodicals, scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos
Social Science Database
Extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Religion Database
This database provides a wide range of international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies.