This guide focuses on the skills and resources needed to complete a research project.
Remember that the accuracy of the images needs to be evaluated along with the websites that display them. Searching for images with general search engines may lead to objectionable or obscene images, so use caution.
Most image sources will include information about the copyright status. Many sources will allow you to reproduce images for teaching or other non-commercial uses. Always remember to attribute the source of the image when incorporating it into your own presentations.
Some image search engines allow you to limit your search to images licensed with Creative Commons licenses that may allow re-use. Often this is on the 'Advanced Search' screen. See the specific license to see if you can modify the image, use it for commercial purposes, or need to make attribution to the creator.
- NCLive - Image Search
Search for articles with images - including charts, photos, maps, and illustrations.
- Art & Architecture Complete
Magazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Includes image collection of over 63,000 images.
An educational resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art. Explore works of art that are teachable across disciplines and grade levels. Includes lesson plans, concept maps and portfolios.
Photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture.
- Google Images
- Yahoo Image Search
- Bing Images
Contains free high resolution digital stock photography for either corporate or public use
Searches flickr for Creative Commons-licensed pictures and lets you resize and embed, complete with proper attribution. Limited number of pictures per month. (Uses Google account for login/storage)
(DVD & Videotape):
Search our Card Catalog to find videos housed in the LRC-IC collection.
Online Collections (Streaming):
- NCLive Video Collection
Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns', Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
- Films on Demand
A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader.
- Khan Academy
Our library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the computer.
Tools for creating presentations and graphics including alternatives to PowerPoint, visualization tools, options for creating handouts and flyers, engaging/interactive presentations, and more.
Create a dynamic alternative to a PowerPoint presentation.
Upload and share presentations online.
- Google Presentations
Create slideshows with Google Slides.
Make great presentations that engage your audience
Transform static content such as PowerPoint® documents into voice-enriched video presentations
Free software for manipulating images. Robust capabilities include photo retouching, image composition and authoring, resizing, and image format conversion. Also acts as an online batch processing system and mass production image renderer. May require more than average expertise to use. Download necessary.
Create infographics and charts from your data based on professionally designed templates.
Create a media-driven timeline.
Tools for creating word clouds and QR codes.
Create a word cloud where the relative size of the words reflects their frequency. Multiple layout, font, and color options
- Tag My Doc
Create QR codes for Word docs, pdfs, PP, Excel, etc.
Like Wordle, except you can create a tag cloud with a specific shape.
Tools to capture either a static image of what's on your screen (and sometimes add annotations, boxes, arrows, etc.) or to capture a video of your movements and usually audio.
The free version includes up to 15-minutes of video.
Free version does screenshots with annotations, videos up to 5 minutes with sound. Download necessary.
CamStudio is an open-source screencasting tool. It records audio and captures screen action, may be editable? Cost = free.
Find and use a number of online polling sites to take quick one-shot polls for presentations or to create more in-depth polls for post-presentation evaluations and more.
- Poll Everywhere
An alternative to the 'clickers' to get audience/class feedback. You ask a question, audience answers via text message, twitter, or web, and responses are tallied and displayed in real time. Free for audiences under 40 people.
Create a quick, embeddable one-question poll with options for media and comments (through Facebook and Twitter).
- Poll Daddy
Free account has: 200 survey responses per month, 10 questions per survey, Content contains Polldaddy links, Basic reports for polls, surveys, & quizzes.