Finding a TopicHow to SearchFind BooksFind E-BooksFind Articles (Basic)Find Articles (Advanced)Find ImagesIdentify and EvaluateScholarly vs. PopularPrimary vs. SecondaryCitationsPlagiarismTutoring CenterGoogle Searching
This is the "Welcome" page of the "ENG 131 - Introduction to Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 131 - Introduction to Literature  

This course introduces the principal genres of literature. Emphasis is placed on literary terminology, devices, structure, and interpretation.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.rccc.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

Reference Assistance:
(704) 216-3680 (North)
(704) 216-3683 (South)
(704) 216-7140 (NCRC)

Hours:
North and South:
Mon.-Thurs  7:45 am to 7:00 pm
Fri.              9:00 am to 1:00 pm

NCRC:
Mon.-Thurs.     8:00 am to 7:00 pm
Fri.                    9:00 am to 1:00 pm

Information Commons closes fifteen minutes before LRC closing time.

 

Books

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms - Edward Quinn
Call Number: PN44.5 .Q56 1999
ISBN: 0816032327
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
This dictionary explores more than 1,000 literary terms and themes-with 200 new to this edition. New entries include traditional literary terms and themes; terrorism and prison literature, and more; and popular subjects such as alcoholism, baseball, and vampirism.

Cover Art
Access Literature: an introduction to fiction, poetry, and drama - David F. Winn; Barbara A. Barnard
Call Number: PE 1417 .A25 2006
ISBN: 0155069667
Publication Date: 2005-07-26
With 53 stories, 314 poems, and 12 plays, Access Literature is designed to provide students with a grounding in the traditional canon that is a vital part of our literary heritage, while at the same time presenting the diverse voices that are an essential part of our cultural record and an exciting force in contemporary literature.

Cover Art
Strategies for Successful Writing - James A. Reinking; Robert Von der Osten
Call Number: PE 1408 .R4262 2005
ISBN: 0131891952
Publication Date: 2004-02-25
Written in a clear, engaging style, "Strategies for Successful Writing" combines four books -- a rhetoric, a research guide, a reader, and a handbook -- into one convenient, flexible, and economically priced text. Moreover, our Free Words Upon Request program allows you to package a free dictionary or thesaurus with "Strategies for Successful Writing," making it the best value available to students.

Cover Art
Writing about Literature in the Media Age - Daniel Anderson
Call Number: PE1479 .C7 A53 2005
ISBN: 0321198352
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
This innovative text/anthology/CD package offers a seamless integration of new media with a literature for composition text that emphasizes critical thinking, argument, research, and the writing process. Teaching students how to read literature closely, think critically, and write convincingly, the text outlines skills for developing a focused thesis and providing evidence to support it. Based on the belief that ways of knowing are often related, the text and CD instill transferable critical thinking skills about analyzing literature that can be applied across a range of media and situations--to fine art, film, music, advertising, and cultural events and issues. Individuals who are interested in literature and multimedia.

Cover Art
Writing Essays about Literature - Kelley Griffith
Call Number: PN 83 G72 1990
ISBN: 0155978632
Publication Date: 1989-08-01
Widely used in introductory literature courses as a style guide or as a supplement to anthologies, this text provides students with valuable guidelines for interpreting literature and writing essays. It includes full-length selections as well as student essays.

 

Introduction to Literature

Literature is the art of written work and may consist of texts based on factual information, as well as on original imagination, such as polemical works as well as autobiography, and reflective essays. Literature can be classified according to historical periods, genres, and political influences. 

A genre consists of artistic works which fall within a certain central theme, and examples of genre include romance, mystery, crime, fantasy, erotica, and adventure, among others. Important historical periods in English literature include Old English, Middle English, the Renaissance, the 17th Century Shakespearean and Elizabethan times, the 18th Century Restoration, 19th Century Victorian, and 20th Century Modernism. Important intellectual movements that have influenced the study of literature include feminism, post-colonialism, psychoanalysis, post-structuralism, post-modernism, romanticism, and Marxism.  

This course introduces the principal genres of literature. Emphasis is placed on literary terminology, devices, structure, and interpretation. Upon completion, students should be able to analyze and respond to literature.

 

 

Short Stories-Dreams into Words

 

Poetry: the feared literary genre

 

Growth of Greek Drama

Librarian

Profile Image
Tim Hunter
Contact Info
Coordinator-Library Services
South Campus
timothy.hunter@rccc.edu
Phone: 704-216-3694
Fax: 704-788-2169
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Thomas
Contact Info
Librarian
North Campus
jenny.thomas@rccc.edu
704-216-3680
Send Email
 

Ask Us!

Need help with Research?  Chat with a Librarian 24 hours a day.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

E-Books

Cover Art
Dictionary of Literary Characters - Michael D. Sollars
ISBN: 9780816073795
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Dictionary of Literary Characters is a stunning, five-volume set containing descriptions of more than 40,000 characters in great literary works from the United States, Britain, and around the world. The wide assortment of characters featured in this comprehensive work are compiled from novels, short stories, and plays ranging from such ancient classics as Sophocles' Antigone to 21st-century prizewinners such as Jeffrey Eugenides' Middlesex. No other reference work covers such an extensive assortment of characters from so many different works of literature. Appendixes include alphabetical lists of authors and literary works covered in the set.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing - Shari Dorantes Hatch
Call Number: PS 153 .N5 A3444 2009 EBOOK
ISBN: 9781592373024
Publication Date: 2009
Covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present and explores what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature - Nicolas Kanellos (Editor)
Call Number: PS 153 .H56 G74 2008 EBOOK
ISBN: 9781849724821
Publication Date: 2008
Surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Entries cover writers, genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines.

Cover Art
Theory of Literature - Paul H. Fry
ISBN: 9780300180831
Publication Date: 2012-04-24
Bringing his perennially popular course to the page, Yale University Professor Paul H. Fry offers in this welcome book a guided tour of the main trends in twentieth-century literary theory. At the core of the book's discussion is a series of underlying questions: What is literature, how is it produced, how can it be understood, and what is its purpose? Fry engages with the major themes and strands in twentieth-century literary theory, among them hermeneutics, modes of formalism, semiotics and Structuralism, deconstruction, psychoanalytic approaches, Marxist and historicist approaches, theories of social identity, Neo-pragmatism and theory. By incorporating philosophical and social perspectives to connect these many trends, the author offers readers a coherent overall context for a deeper and richer reading of literature.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip