Research Guides: Opioid Abuse: History/Reference Articles

Credo Reference Opioid Abuse

Credo Reference Opioid Abuse
Following an increase in the prevalence of chronic pain and campaigns denouncing inadequate treatment of pain, the past two decades have culminated in what researchers and healthcare advocates are calling an “opioid epidemic” in Canada and the United States where prescription opioid consumption is highest worldwide. An opioid is a drug that binds to opioid receptors and that primarily produce analgesic or euphoric effects.

Altered States: A History of Drug Use in America Full Video (58:15)

Addiction 101 Episode 1 of The Addictive Brain The Great Courses

CQ Magazine Opioid Abuse

CQ Magazine Search Results for Opioid Abuse
LIst of search results for Opioids in the CQ Researcher Magazine.

Where can I find primary sources through RCCC?

Some good places to start would be some of our databases:

Remember, however, that primary sources are original sources. Asking for interviews, checking museums or other places that specialize in local history, or looking through government documents are all great ways to research using primary sources.

DigitalNC
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
Films on Demand Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
History Study Center
A targeted collection of full-text journals and popular magazines providing expansive coverage of a wide range of global historical topics and themes.
Infobase American History
American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Infobase Ancient and Medieval History
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary sources, and more.
Kanopy Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Kanopy is headquartered in San Francisco, California and has offices in Sydney, Australia.
Salem Press eBooks
Collection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Opioid Abuse: History/Reference Articles

New All-in-One Search

Credo Reference Opioid Abuse

Altered States: A History of Drug Use in America Full Video (58:15)

Addiction 101 Episode 1 of The Addictive Brain The Great Courses

CQ Magazine Opioid Abuse

Where can I find primary sources through RCCC?