Research Guides: Political Science: Find Articles

Finding Articles - The Basics

If you're new to searching, or just want to do a quick search for information on a topic, try using our " All-in-One" search option located under our on our homepage.

Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to limit, widen, or define your search.

Journal Search

Recommended Journals for Political Science

Databases

Recommended Databases for Articles in Political Science

Newsbank-America’s News
America’s News: 2021 Edition features national, regional, and local news content that delivers multiple perspectives on any issue, person, or event across the country. It is the most comprehensive domestic news resource available. Newspaper database.
CQ Researcher
A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Global Breaking Newswires
Global Breaking Newswires provides timely access to newswire content from around the globe as well as growing archive of news.
GPO
U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
JSTOR Essential
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Military Database
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
North Carolina General Assembly
Includes links to find representatives and senators for both the NCGA and the US Congress by county, district, and Zip code.
North Carolina State Government Publications Collection
Informational brochures and pamphlets, reports (annual, biennial, statistical), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines), handbooks, studies, and other information resources produced by state government.
Political Science Database
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Social Science Database
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
US Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

What are Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly articles are articles that appear in refereed journals. These are publications whose articles are peer-reviewed prior to publication. This means that scholars in a particular subject area reviews the article before it is published and based on standard criteria, they deem it acceptable for publication, they ask for revisions, or they reject the publication.

Political Science: Find Articles

All-in-One Search

Finding Articles - The Basics

Journal Search

Databases

What are Scholarly Articles?

List of Databases (A to Z)

e-Library- Starting Point for Research