Research Guides: Privacy and Digital Issues: Issues and Finding Articles

Privacy and the Internet - CQ Researcher

Privacy and the Internet
Nearly 2 billion consumer records were stolen or accidentally exposed in the United States last year, including personal data on nearly half the U.S. population held by the Equifax credit agency. The data breaches raise questions about whether consumers’ information can be protected.

SIRS Knowledge Source

Privacy Rights for Teenagers
Privacy involves having one's personal behavior and private matters concealed from others. The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment serves as the legal basis for privacy. Although teenagers do have rights under the Constitution, the right to privacy for teens is controversial because schools and lawmakers must balance teens' rights versus parents' rights to know what their children are doing.

CQ Magazine - Privacy

CQ Magazine Search Results for Privacy
CQ Researcher Magazine search results for Privacy.

Recommended Databases

CQ Researcher A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
InfoBase Polling the Nations Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
ProQuest Central This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
SIRS Issues Researcher Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
US Newsstream News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Swank
Swank allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Kanopy is headquartered in San Francisco, California and has offices in Sydney, Australia.

Security Breaches

Herther, Nancy K. "Global Efforts to Redefine Privacy in the Age of Big Data." Information Today
Herther, Nancy K. "Global Efforts to Redefine Privacy in the Age of Big Data." Information Today, vol. 31, no. 6, Jul, 2014, pp. 1-36. ProQuest, https://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1554332726?accountid=13601.
With 52.5 Million Users' Data Exposed On Google+, Google Quickens Shutdown
The Google+ social network inadvertently gave app developers access to about 52.5 million users' information — even data not meant to be public — because of a bug in its software, Google says.
Facebook Says Cambridge Analytica Data Grab May Be Much Bigger Than First Reported
Personal information of up to 87 million people — mostly in the United States — may have been "improperly shared" with Cambridge Analytica, a data analytics firm used by the Trump campaign that has recently come under fire.
The Marriott Breach Compared with Past Security Breakdowns
"The Marriott Breach Compared with Past Security Breakdowns."ProQuest, Nov 30, 2018, https://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/2140146166?accountid=13601.
What You should do After the Marriott Data Breach
Shaban, Hamza. "What You should do After the Marriott Data Breach."ProQuest, Nov 30, 2018, https://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/2147754688?accountid=13601.
Woman Charged As Hacker In Capital One Data Breach Exposing Over 100 Million Customers July 30, 20194:18 AM ET
A woman has been charged in connection with a hacking breach at Capital One bank that exposed information from more than 100 million credit applications over a 14-year period – what is thought to be one of the largest such attacks in recent years.
The Capital One Data Breach is No Exception & Why We Can Expect Many, Many More
As more and more activities, processes and assets move to the cloud, it will become increasingly difficult to secure transactions, especially since general awareness of the breadth, depth and severity of threats is ill-defined and underappreciated, and because cybersecurity funding is incredibly inadequate.

National Security and Privacy - SIRS Issues Researcher

National Security and Privacy
Following the terrorist attacks on Sept. 11, 2001, President George W. Bush signed into law the USA PATRIOT Act. This law made it easier for law enforcement officials to use wiretapping and other surveillance technologies to aid in the war against terrorism. The terrorist attacks also resulted in incidences of racial and ethnic profiling. Many people of Middle Eastern descent were singled out for searches or interrogations.

Issues

Should users be able to delete their personal information on the web?
Free speech or censorship? Should Facebook, Google, or any other provider censor information on the web?

Subject Guide

Laurie Robb

Email Me

Contact:

Instructional Librarian
South Campus, 8am-5pm
704-216-3544
laurie.robb@rccc.edu

Subjects: ACA-Academic Related, AHR-Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Technology, AUT-Automotive Systems Technology, COM-Communications, COS-Cosmetology, DRA-Drama, ENG-English, MSM-Motorsports Management Technology, PSY-Psychology

Right to be Forgotten

Privacy and the Internet
Glazer, Sarah. "Privacy and the Internet." CQ Researcher, 4 Dec. 2015, pp. 1009-32, library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre2015120400.
Americans more tolerant of offensive speech than others in the world
From the Pew Research Center, 2016.

Google Has Received 650,000 'Right To Be Forgotten' Requests Since 2014
Google says it has received more than 650,000 requests to remove certain websites from its search results since a European court ordered the company to allow Europeans the "right to be forgotten" in 2014.
Google backed on limiting search results over right to be forgotten 10 January 2019 Share this with Facebook Share this with Messenger Share this with Twitter Share this with Email Share
A senior adviser to the European Court of Justice (ECJ) has backed Google's legal bid to limit individuals' "right to be forgotten" to searches in Europe.

Privacy and Digital Issues: Issues and Finding Articles

New All-in-One Search

Privacy and the Internet - CQ Researcher

SIRS Knowledge Source

CQ Magazine - Privacy

Recommended Databases

Security Breaches

National Security and Privacy - SIRS Issues Researcher

Issues

Subject Guide

Right to be Forgotten