Careers for Technical Writers - ENG 114 - Professional Research & Writing - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is being developed under the sponsorship of the US Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA) through a grant to the North Carolina Department of Commerce.

Films on Demand
Use the search bar in the database to find information about your career or online interviews with professionals.

The News Media by C. W. Anderson; Leonard Downie; Michael Schudson
Call Number: PN 4855 .A63 2016 NORTH
ISBN: 0190206195
Publication Date: 2016-09-08
The business of journalism has an extensive, storied, and often romanticized history. Newspaper reporting has long shaped the way that we see the world, played key roles in exposing scandals, and has even been alleged to influence international policy.
Sports Journalism by James Toney
Call Number: PN 4784 .S6 T664 2012 NORTH
ISBN: 9781408178324
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Sports journalism, once dismissed as the 'toyshop' editorial department, has grown in importance as sport has become bigger and bigger business, generating billions in revenue to those who own teams, franchises, tournaments and organisations.