Research Guides: Women's Studies: Welcome

Click on the image to view full-size.

Books Available Through the Library

Seneca Falls and the Origins of the Women's Rights Movements

Black Women's History of the United States

Databases for Women's History

Films on Demand Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Kanopy Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Kanopy is headquartered in San Francisco, California and has offices in Sydney, Australia.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
Infobase American History American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
African-American Experience Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African...
Overdrive Downloadable popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for your reading and listening pleasure.
Salem Press eBooks Collection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
CQ Researcher A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
SIRS Issues Researcher Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

The Crown Act

The Crown Act from the NAACP
Together with the CROWN Coalition, LDF is fighting to end hair discrimination and advocating for the CROWN Act to become law in all 50 states.
The Crown Act from Dove
This Women’s History Month is dedicated to the women behind the CROWN Act movement to end race-based hair discrimination nationwide.

Celebrate Women's Equality Day - August 26, 2023 - Click to the Right to View the Slideshare

Women's Equality Day 2023 by Laurie Robb

View the slideshow by clicking to the left or at the bottom to learn more about Women's Equality and what the wage gap means for different demographics.

Women's Rights - SIRS Issues Researcher

Women's Rights - SIRS Issues Researcher
Does the gender wage gap still exist?

Today's Hours

For details on locations and scheduled closures.

Why Celebrate Women's History in March

The Vote - Film from Films on Demand

The Vote - Episode 2
This program, part two of the series, examines the mounting dispute over strategy and tactics. The suffragists, stung by a string of bitter state-level defeats in the fall of 1915, concentrated their energies on the passage of a federal amendment. One faction was determined to pursue a moderate course and work within the political system, while another deployed ever-more confrontational and controversial methods of protest. Distributed by PBS Distribution.

The Vote - Episode 1
This program traces the rise of suffrage militancy, a direct-action approach to politics inspired by Britain’s notoriously militant suffragettes. By 1911, “votes for women” had become, as one journalist noted, “the three small words which constitute the biggest question in the world today.” While galvanizing to many, such radical action was also divisive.

One Woman, One Vote from Alexander Street Video

One Woman, One Vote from Alexander Street Video
How could America claim to be the world’s greatest democracy, but deny the right to vote to women? With an introduction by Ruth Bader Ginsburg, One Woman, One Vote documents the events that culminated in the passing of the 19th Amendment.
Release Date 2020

The Oratory of Women's Suffrage Full Video (01:10:04)

Oratory of Women's Suffrage
This video documentary re-creates the speeches of leading suffragettes whose impassioned words shaped the women’s movement during its inception in the late 19th century.