Employment - BUS 115 - Introduction to Business Law - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Books

Dealing with Problem Employees by Lisa Guerin; Amy DelPo
Call Number: KF 3457 .D45 2011
ISBN: 9781413316230
Publication Date: 2011-09-26
Handle workplace issues legally.
Employment, Disability, and the Americans with Disabilities Act by Peter David Blanck (Editor)
Call Number: KF3469 .E48 2000
ISBN: 081011688X
Publication Date: 2000-01-25
This book offers an assessment of what has actually occurred since the ADA's enactment in 1990.
Congress Makes a Law by Stephen K. Bailey
Call Number: KF 6055 .A313 A163 1980
ISBN: 0313224072
Publication Date: 1980-05-19
Study of the realities of the legislative process, one which should be read by any person interested.
Employees' Rights by Richard C. Busse
Call Number: KF 3319.6 .B87 2004
ISBN: 1572483679
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Attorney at Law, is a practical handbook to workplace law, with FAQs.
Fair, Square and Legal by Donald H. Weiss
Call Number: KF 3457 .W45 2000
ISBN: 0814405312
Publication Date: 1999-10-29
This updated book shows managers how to protect themselves and their companies from legal problems, and treat their employees fairly.
Your Rights in the Workplace by Barbara Kate Repa
Call Number: KF 3455 .Z9 R47 2000
ISBN: 0873375971
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Covers an employee's rights on the job, from hiring and getting paid to privacy and firing.
Child Labor by Laurie Willis (Editor)
Call Number: HD 6231 .C4513 2011
ISBN: 9780737756906
Publication Date: 2011-09-23
Focusing on topics of special concern to students, this series makes complex issues less intimidating and more accessible; each book presents 10 to 14 readings from a variety of perspectives that allow readers to better understand the topic.
365 Answers about Human Resources for the Small Business Owner by Mary B. Holihan; Kevin Aguanno (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF 5549 .H5237 2006
ISBN: 0910627789
Publication Date: 2006-01-12
Detailed are over 300 common questions employers have about employees and the law.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals
Political Science Database
This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals.

Other Resources

LawHelpNC

eBooks

An Introduction to Labor Law by Michael Evan Gold
ISBN: 9780801479229
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
An Introduction to Labor Law is a useful and course-tested primer that explains the basic principles of the federal law regulating the relationship of employers to labor unions.
Employment Law Essentials by J.J. Keller
ISBN: 9781602879645
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Affirmative Action in Antidiscrimination Law and Policy by William M. Leiter; Samuel Leiter
ISBN: 9781438435138
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Provides a comprehensive and even-handed overview of the very contentious subject of affirmative action.
Everyday Employment Law by Lisa Guerin; Amy DelPo
ISBN: 9780873377966
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Discrimination Law and Employment Issues by David Lozell Martin
ISBN: 9781854183392
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
This report gives an overview of the many changes to anti-discrimination legislation.
Women's Rights at Work by Alison Clarke
ISBN: 9780745315645
Publication Date: 2001-03-20
Women's Rights at Work is a comprehensive guide that begins with the point when a woman finds work right through to the end when she finishes a job throughdismissal or resignation.
Race, Labor, and Civil Rights by Robert Samuel Smith
ISBN: 9780807134818
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Robert Samuel Smith offers the first full-length historical examination of Griggs v. Duke Power (1971) and its connection to civil rights activism.

Web Resources

Nolo's Employment Law and HR Section
The latest legal information for small business owners, human resources professionals, and employees -- including hundreds of articles and FAQs.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
nformation on discrimination laws and tips on the claim filing process, from the agency that enforces federal employment discrimination laws and investigates charges filed against employers.
U.S. Department of Labor
Learn about federal labor laws like the Family and Medical Leave Act, minimum wage and overtime rules, workplace safety regulations (OSHA), and much more.
Small Business Administration
Information and resources for running a small business, including tips on hiring and managing employees.
State Government Labor Offices
A list of contact information and website links for the state government labor offices in all 50 states and the District of Columbia (from the U.S. Department of Labor).
Nolo's Employment Law Blog
Lessons from the everyday experiences of employers and HR professionals on everything from hiring and firing to performance and discipline, from Nolo.
Employment Law Information Network
Articles on employment law issues, sample policies and contracts, news links, and more from employment law practitioners.
Privacy Rights Clearinghouse
Information on all things privacy -- including workplace privacy and background checks -- from a nonprofit advocacy and education group.
Workplace Fairness
Lots of free information on employment law issues (federal and state-specific) from a non-profit group dedicated to protecting employee rights.
LII's Wex Project - Employment Law
Discussion and resources on common employment law issues from Wex, a community-built law encyclopedia from Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute.

BUS 115 - Introduction to Business Law: Employment

Books

Databases

Other Resources

eBooks

Web Resources