Databases and Web Resources - BUS 115 - Introduction to Business Law - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Rowan-Cabarrus - Available Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.
Data-Axel Reference Solutions
ReferenceUSA helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. The database includes access to information about more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. homeowners and movers. ReferenceUSA's quality information helps researchers, students, and job-seekers answer a wide variety of questions, and saves them valuable time and money.
Entrepreneurship Database
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.
Morningstar Investing Center
Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.
O'Reilly Higher Education
Premier database for Computer Science/Engineering, as well as Business. Students and faculty, and librarians can create playlists to share.
Wall Street Journal
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

Compliance

The FTC Business Center has a hub dedicated to protecting small businesses, information on marketing & advertising, and some legal resources.

The SEC has a page dedicated to small businesses and additional resources that help ensure you remain compliant.

IRS Small Business and Self-Employed Tax Center

The IRS Small Business and Self-Employed Tax Center has information on:

Starting a business.

Operating a business.

Business tax credits.

Recordkeeping.

Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration can be used to find things like:

A business guide with information on how to form a business plan, calculate start up costs, get funding, choose a business structure, apply for permits and licenses, manage your business' finances, hire employees, pay taxes, market your business, remain legally compliant and much more.
Funding options and programs whether it be through various types of loans, grants, or through investment.
An online learning center with free courses on entrepreneurship and information on development programs.
An index of the various SBA forms that you may need to submit.

NC Secretary of State

The N.C. Secretary of State's website has information on business registration, a tutorial video showing how to register your business, and a link to register your business online. They have a small video library with other useful tutorial videos.

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

How—and Why—You Should Trademark Your Business

The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, as its namesake denotes, has information on filing patents, trademarks, and has a learning center to help users get the information they need in regards to both.

US Chamber of Commerce
Registering a trademark for your business can distinguish your brand from its competitors and offer you strong legal recourse for infringement. Here’s how to do it.
USPTO-Searching Trademark Database
You should search the USPTO's trademark database (Trademark Electronic Search System, or TESS) to see if any trademark has already been registered or applied for that is: Similar to your trademark, used on related products or for related services, and Live. A trademark that meets all three criteria will prevent your trademark from being registered because it creates a likelihood of confusion.