It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communications: Find eBooks
This course provides an overview of the basic concepts of communication and the skills necessary to communicate in various contexts. Emphasis is placed on communication theories and techniques used in interpersonal group, public, intercultural, and mass c
Home Grown eBooks CollectionA collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
R2 Digital LibraryThe R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press eBooksCollection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Very Short IntroductionsVery Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
The Library offers several eBook databases, however the quickest way to access all of the eBooks provided by the Library is to perform a search in our All-in-One Search tool.
1. Click on the eBooks tab and enter your search terms into the All-in-One Search box:
2. If desired, filter the list of eBooks by publication date, date range, or subject:
The Complete Presentation Skills Handbook by Suzy SiddonsPresentations are required in a hugely diverse range of situations, and the ability to get your message across clearly, succinctly and without boring your audience, is vital. Most of us find speaking in public a daunting task, but The Complete Presentation Skills Handbook will ensure you are prepared for and confident about giving presentations. Covering all the questions you need to ask yourself, and giving you a checklist that enables you to tailor presentations to your particular circumstances, this book is an authoritative and straightforward guide to giving the right presentation to your audience. Making sure your presentation fits your audience means you can render your presentations short and effective, saving you and your audience both time and money.
Conversations for Change by Shawn Kent Hayashi"A must read for anyone in business, government or academia. The lessons Hayashi teaches are all too often taken for granted. This work distills a lifetime of experience into easily understood actions that can benefit us all."-Joseph Major, Chairman and CEO, The Victory Bank Key Conversations for Positive Change--SAY IT RIGHT FOR BUSINESS AND CAREER SUCCESS Whether you're trying to motivate a team, negotiate a contract, make a sale, ask for a raise, land a new job, or terminate an employee, the conversations you have will either help you succeed or undermine your goals. Communication expert and leadership coach Shawn Kent Hayashi has spent more than two decades studying how the things people say impact their business and professional lives. In her new book CONVERSATIONS FOR CHANGE: 12 Ways to Say It Right When It Matters Most, she not only identifies the twelve most important types of conversations people have, but shows readers how to reach their maximum potential by using these conversations effectively. Hayashi identifies the 12 types of conversations that are vital for growth and success--not just in business but in every area of your life. In order to communicate well you must first master three fundamentals. These are: Building emotional intelligence Understanding workplace motivators Recognizing and adapting to communication styles Readers of CONVERSATIONS FOR CHANGE, can take a free, self assessment at www.WhenTheConversationChanges.com to identify their personal communication style. This is the book that shows you how to: Simplify your message--without oversimplifying it Reduce tensions between you and your listener Quickly recognize and choose the most effectiveinterpersonal communication techniques Be flexible and resilient while staying focused onyour objective Choose the right phrases for any situation Use timing to your best advantage
Publication Date: 2010-10-04
Improve Your Communication Skills by Alan BarkerExcellent communication skills are vital in today's workplace. Whether keeping the interest of a large audience, impressing a potential employer or simply winning the argument at an important meeting, sounding the part is key. This 3rd edition of Improve Your Communication Skills is full of practical advice on all aspects of verbal and non verbal communication. It gives vital tips on improving conversations and building rapport with colleagues, learning the skills of persuasion, and writing effective emails, letters and reports. This edition is updated to include new information on communication online, as well as interpersonal and behavioral skills associated with effective communication.
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
The Human Touch by Debra Paul; James Cadle; Phillipa ThomasAll professionals need strong interpersonal skills as they are a fundamental requirement in any business environment. This book specifically addresses the application of those key skills within professional job roles and the IT industry. It forms a comprehensive and practical reference manual relevant to a huge variety of situations. Topics include: building rapport; team working; leadership; negotiation; managing conflict; presentation skills; coaching and mentoring; and problem solving.
Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Body Language by Elizabeth KuhnkeWhat does your body language say about you? From strangers on the street, to your closest friends and family ? even if you're not speaking, you're saying a lot with your body. Body Language explores the way we use our bodies to communicate, the way we hold ourselves, the way we sit, stand, and point our hands, feet and eyes can all reveal how we are feeling in any given situation.