Careers in Biotech - ENG 111 - Writing and Inquiry - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Biotechnology Production Workers Biotechnology production workers, also known as biotechnology manufacturing technicians, are involved in many aspects of the manufacture of biotechnology products such as biopharmaceuticals and biofuels. Biotechnology production supervisors and managers oversee production workers.
Biotechnology Research Assistants Biotechnology research assistants work to help scientists, engineers, professors, and a wide variety of other professionals get their jobs done. They are information specialists who find the facts, data, and statistics that their employers need, leaving the employers free to pursue the larger task at hand.
Laboratory Technicians and Technologists Laboratory technicians and technologists perform experiments and procedures in biotechnology research. Technicians and technologists are differentiated by their level of education. Technicians typically have associate’s degrees, and technologists have bachelor’s degrees.
Article: 5 High-Paying Careers in Biotechnology "The demand for biofuels is expected to rise over the next several years and as such, there will be many new opportunities and avenues for employment. Here are some of the highest-paying jobs in biotechnology."
List of More Careers in Biotechnology

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Careers in Biotechnology
Research or study basic principles of plant and animal life, such as origin, relationship, development, anatomy, and functions.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Careers in Biotechnology
Employment of life, physical, and social science occupations is projected to grow 10 percent from 2016 to 2026, faster than the average for all occupations, which will result in about 124,800 new jobs.

Powering up a Career in Biotechnology by Eric Minton The biotech industry is one of today's most exciting and swiftly evolving fields. This informative guide explains the sorts of courses and extracurricular activities that are required or strongly encouraged when laying the foundation for a biotech career. The book explores the various areas of biotechnology--from bioinformatics, immunology, and microbiology to industrial biotechnology and biomedical and genetic engineering--and explains the specific educational and experiential requirements for each type of biotech job and its typical duties, tasks, and responsibilities. Also included are tips for professional development, advancement, and lifelong learning. A great resource for STEM-focused students!
ISBN: 9781499460926
Publication Date: 2015-07-30

R3 Career Services
Since 2007, R3 (Refocus, Retrain & Re-employ) Career Services has assisted thousands of adults in the community with services designed to navigate career and employment goals. Weekly classes and workshops are available, such as Resume Clinics, Computer Skills workshops, Virtual Mock Interviews and more!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.