chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Nursing 111 Library Project

General information and research help for the Nursing department.

Nursing 111 Project

  1. Select a specific topic that relates to the general group project subject area to which you have been assigned.

                                    Topic selected: _____________________________

  1. Access 2 articles from professional journals about your topic using PubMed. Each article should be from a different year or journal, within the last 5 years.  Below these instructions, cite each article in APA format.  Then create hyperlink to each article below the citation.  Make sure that you double check your hyperlinks.  If you can’t pull them up, your instructor can’t either.

  1. Find two articles from professional journals about your topic using ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source. Each article should be from a different year or journal, within the last 5 years.  Below these instructions, cite each article in APA format.  Then create hyperlink to each article below the citation.  Make sure that you double check your hyperlinks.  If you can’t pull them up, your instructor can’t either.

  1. Access 2 articles from professional journals about your topic using ProQuest Health & Medical Collection. Each article should be from a different year or journal, within the last 5 years. Below these instructions, cite each article in APA format. Then create hyperlink to each article below the citation. Make sure that you double check your hyperlinks.  If you can’t pull them up, your instructor can’t either.

  1. Compare the 3 sources:                                 (worst)   1         2        3         4        5  (best)

  1. Ease of Access (Highlight your answer)

1. PubMed                                                            1    2    3    4    5

2. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source          1    2    3    4    5

3. ProQuest Health & Medical Complete                1    2    3    4    5

  1. Level of satisfaction with information available (Highlight your answer)

1. PubMed                                                            1    2    3    4    5

2. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source          1    2    3    4    5

3. ProQuest Health & Medical Complete                1    2    3    4    5

  1. What did you LIKE about:

1. PubMed 

             2.  ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Sour

3.  ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

  1. What did you DISLIKE about:

1. PubMed 

            2. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

            3. ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

6. List 2 nursing journals carried by the RCCC library (physically available at the LRC at NCRC). 

7.    List 2 nursing journals available by online subscription through the RCCC library. 

PubMed

PubMed Search Terms example

Note that you can filter the results with the tools on the left. Here the clinical trials, free full text and last 5 years are highlighted.

PubMed Filter use highlighted

***Please note that not all PubMed articles have citations****

If PubMed does not have the citation for an article you can create it yourself. There is an entire page dedicated to APA 7 formatting here on the nursing guide.

This is an example of a journal article with a doi cited in APA 7

Journal Article with DOI APA 7 example

Nursing and Allied Health Database

 

image of search bar of nursing and allied health database

Note here that the filters on the left side have been chosen, including the full-text, scholarly articles, and date. 

image of search results with filters in nursing and allied health

Health and Medical Collection

You will enter your keywords in the Search Bar just as in the Nursing & Allied Health Collection. Again, use the tools on the left to narrow your results.

Image of health and medical collection with filters

How to Find Journal Title and Date

Publications and Authority

Why use more than one database? It's all about the publications (scholarly materials, magazines, trade journals) that are included. To check to see what is covered, click on the publications tabs on the front page of the database.

image of publications tab

Nursing Journals at NCRC

The NCRC library holds both print and digital copies of journals supporting the nursing programs. Here is a list of our print titles for nursing, located in the NCRC Library:

American Journal of Nursing

Geriatric Nursing

Click here to see the nursing journals available through the RCCC databases.

 

Journal Search

Accessing Rowan-Cabarrus Resources

When first accessing Rowan-Cabarrus' resources you will prompted to enter your Blackboard login at a screen like this. Only enter your Blackboard login and password (NOT @student.rccc.edu). 

screen showing database access

It's All About the Keywords

The key to a successful search is keywords. You will have to see what combination of keywords gives you the best results.

For example in the Health and Medical Collection 

  • the keywords "opioid use" give you 11,353 results. Note the keywords "opioid use" are in quotations to hold the words together. Without the quotes you'll get almost 70,000 results.
  • "opioid use" AND prescription gives you 5,006 results. Note the AND is in all caps. That is a Boolean Search term and tells the search machine in the database that you only want records that contain BOTH terms.
  • To further narrow you can add more words such as "opioid use" AND prescription AND heroin.
  • If you aren't certain of the search terms you can use OR. Such as "opioid use" or "opioid abuse" (14,148 results)
  • If you are getting results you don't want, try a NOT. For example, "opioid use" NOT prescription (6,347 results)

Accessing Your Articles

PubMed

Most of the records are ONLY ABSTRACTS. You can filter for full-text or look for a DOI link to reach the article. Citations may not be included. PubMed is not a Rowan-Cabarrus database and can be accessed by anyone on the web.

Nursing and Allied Health Database

Health and Medical Collection

These are Rowan-Cabarrus databases and every article has a citation attached. NOT every article is full-text but you can use the full-text filter.

Use the tools in the right corner of the article to Save, Email, Print and Cite articles. 

Image of proquest tools

 

 

Instruction/Outreach Librarian

Laurie Robb's picture
Laurie Robb
Contact:
Instructional Librarian
South Campus, 8am-5pm
704-216-3544
laurie.robb@rccc.edu

Today's Hours

Updated News!

Due to rising COVID-19 numbers, the Library will continue to provide remote services only during the 2020 Fall semester.  The Library spaces will remain closed at this time…Learn More

Library Instruction Survey