Native American Literature and Information - ENG 231 - American Literature I - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Religious stories and Myths from Native Americans

Creation stories from the American Indian Experience Database
This link takes you to the list of 60 creation stories from the American Indian Experience database.

Video of Native American Stories

Databases

American Indian Experience Access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, including videos, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources,...
Infobase American History This link opens in a new window American History database spans our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—and was developed and curated by leading scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Films on Demand Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
ProQuest Central This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
JSTOR Essential JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Alexander Academic Video Online Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.

Books

Sky Loom by Brian Swann (Editor)
ISBN: 9780803246157
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Sky Loom offers a dazzling introduction to Native American myths, stories, and songs drawn from previous collections by acclaimed translator and poet Brian Swann.
The Story of Jumping Mouse by John Steptoe (Illustrator)
Call Number: Early Childhood South Y E 78 .G
ISBN: 9780688019020
Publication Date: 1984-03-13
Based on a Native American legend, this is the tale of a compassionate, courageous mouse who journeys to a far-off land and becomes a magnificent soaring eagle.

ENG 231 - American Literature I: Native American Literature and Information

Religious stories and Myths from Native Americans

Video of Native American Stories

Databases

Books