Research Guides: Early Childhood Education: EDU 221 Disability Topic Paper

Searching Techniques

When using databases select full-text to ensure you are looking at articles available in their entirety.

pick articles that can be accessed in their entirety.

Tip- Read the articles abstract first.

The abstract will tell you what the article is about and the results received. This will save you from wasting time reading an article only to find out that it was not exactly what was needed.
Quotation marks (" ") are used when you want to search an exact phrase of two or more words. For example: "dog show"

Boolean Operators

Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to limit, widen, or define your search.

Cats and Dogs brings up results that contain both terms.

Cats or Dogs brings up results that contain either terms.

Cats not dogs only brings up results for one of the terms.

Databases

Family Health Database
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry
Medline Plus
Medline Plus is a source that has a vast amount of resources dealing with medical conditions and diseases.
Proquest Central
Proquest Central is a database that has a broad focus on many different disciplines.
Public Heath Database
This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

ERIC (Education)
Digests from education-related journals. Provides access to Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Just for Kids
The Just for Kids Streaming Collection gives children—and their parents—a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy.

Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

As the nation's health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health, safety, and security threats. It also offers vast information on many diseases and medical conditions.

National Institutes of Health

Every medical condition has its own organization, so looking up disease specific sites is another good source for background information.

Salem Press
Health
A comprehensive collection of titles that covers all aspects of human health, from addictions to diseases to psychology and our award-winning medical guide.

RSS Feeds

Autism Helper
Resources, tips, and materials to help you, help children with autism. We at The Autism Helper, Inc. are dedicated to empowering those who support individuals with Autism by providing resources, tools, and the methods to measure success.
Childhood 101
About Site -. Here you will find hundreds of play ideas and parenting articles written by a team of everyday parents, each with a specific passion or area of specialty.
Considerate Classroom
A blog for early childhood development teacher or parents that contains tips & lessons for students with autism and other developmental delays.
Teach Junkie
About Site - Welcome to the place for teachers to share bright ideas, creative lesson plans and activities!

APA Citations

American Psychological Association - APA Style
more...less...
The rules of APA Style®, detailed in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, offer sound guidance for writing with simplicity, power, and concision. APA Style has been adapted by many disciplines and is used by writers around the world.

On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA Formatting
UNC University Libraries