Research Guides: Tobacco/Vaping: Find Ebooks

E-Books

Inside the Tobacco Industry by Tom Streissguth Some commodities command massive economic, social, and political influence. This title examines the business around tobacco, a popular but much-debated luxury item. It explores the history of tobacco use, how tobacco's impact on human health came to be understood, and future trends for the industry. Features include essential facts, a glossary, selected bibliography, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
ISBN: 9781680783759
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Golden Holocaust by Robert N. Proctor The cigarette is the deadliest artifact in the history of human civilization. It is also one of the most beguiling, thanks to more than a century of manipulation at the hands of tobacco industry chemists. In Golden Holocaust, Robert N. Proctor draws on reams of formerly-secret industry documents to explore how the cigarette came to be the most widely-used drug on the planet, with six trillion sticks sold per year. He paints a harrowing picture of tobacco manufacturers conspiring to block the recognition of tobacco-cancer hazards, even as they ensnare legions of scientists and politicians in a web of denial. Proctor tells heretofore untold stories of fraud and subterfuge, and he makes the strongest case to date for a simple yet ambitious remedy: a ban on the manufacture and sale of cigarettes.
Call Number: HS9135- P76 2011
ISBN: 9780520950436
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Vaping by Andrew Karpan (Editor)
Call Number: HV5745.V375 2020
ISBN: 9781534505148
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Though first introduced in 2003, vaping's popularity has rapidly increased in recent years. Vaping involves the inhalation of aerosols and is generally considered safer than smoking tobacco, but little is currently known about its health impacts. Additionally, although evidence suggests that vaping can help curb tobacco smoking, there is also concern that it increases addiction among non-smokers, especially children and teenagers.
E-Cigarettes by Elissa Bass
Call Number: TS2260 .B37 2016
ISBN: 9781502605658
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
The Risks of Addictive Nicotine and Toxic Chemicals: E-cigarettes are sold to help people quit using cigarettes but they present dangers of their own. Despite assurances from producers that the devices are safe, there are warnings from health experts that they use can be addictive and contain carcinogens. Included among the sidebars is one detailing the real dangers of these devices to children.

Finding E-Books

The Library offers several eBook databases, however the quickest way to access all of the eBooks provided by the Library is to perform a search in our All-in-One Search tool.

1. Click on the eBooks tab and enter your search terms into the All-in-One Search box:

2. If desired, filter the list of eBooks by publication date, date range, or subject:

Ebooks

ECigarettes by American Academy of Pediatrics (Editor) Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach.
Call Number: TS2260. E254 2018
ISBN: 9781610022743
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Clearing the Air by Gregory Wood In Clearing the Air, Gregory Wood examines smoking's importance to the social and cultural history of working people in the twentieth-century United States.iod.
Call Number: HF 5549
ISBN: 9781501706349
Publication Date: 2016-10-14

eBook Collections

eBooks

Some of our eBook collections will allow you to check out an eBook for use on your mobile device (such as a Kindle) while others will allow online viewing only.

ABC-CLIO E-book Collection History & literature e-books, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Credo Reference A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
eBook Central Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
HomeGrown eBooks A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Infobase eBooks
eBooks covering Literature and the Humanities.
Open Library A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
Overdrive Downloadable popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for your reading and listening pleasure.
Poetry for Students
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
R2 Digital Library The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press eBooks Collection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.

Instructions for Downloading eBooks: