It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 226 - Civil War: Find Books
A guide to support History 226, The Civil War. This course examines the social, political, economic, and ideological forces that led to the Civil War and Reconstruction. Topics include regional conflicts and sectionalism, dissolution of the Union, militar
Photography and the American Civil War by Jeff L. Rosenheim
Call Number: E 183 .A941 2013 SOUTH
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Six hundred thousand lives were lost between 1861 and 1865, making the conflict between North and South the nation's deadliest war.The War was also a watershed in photographic history, as the camera recorded the epic, heartbreaking narrative from beginning to end.
Gettysburg by Time Magazine Editors
Call Number: E 475.53 .K585 2013 SOUTH
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
History was made on the first three days of July 1863 at Gettysburg, Pa., where Confederate General Robert E. Lee waged a final desperate gamble to win the Civil War-and lost.
Civil War Weapons by Graham Smith
Call Number: E 491 .S65 2011 SOUTH
Publication Date: 2011-08-04
War is a driver for technological change, and the evolution of weapons can be seen by studying the design of the Civil War weapons cataloged in this attractive full-color reference book.
Some of our eBook collections will allow you to check out an eBook for use on your mobile device (such as a Kindle) while others will allow online viewing only.
ABC-CLIO E-book CollectionHistory & literature e-books, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Credo ReferenceA premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
eBook CentralScholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Home Grown eBooksA collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
R2 Digital LibraryThe R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press eBooksCollection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Very Short IntroductionsVery Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
A concise and well-informed introduction to the most traumatic and bloodiest war in American history. Examines the deep-rooted causes of the war and the political and military leadership of the North and the South. Recounts the events that led from the early battles through the terrible confrontations at Gettysburg and Vicksburg to the South's final surrender at Appomattox in 1865. Complete with maps, chronology and details of further resources, this is the ideal introduction to the war that shaped American history.
In Trials and Triumphs, Marilyn Mayer Culpepper provides incomparable insights into women's lives during America's Civil War era. Her respect for these nineteenth-century women and their experiences, as well as her engaging and intimate style, enable Culpepper to transport readers into a tumultuous time of death, destruction, and privationinto a world turned upside down, an environment that seemed as strange to contemporaries as it does in our own time.
B. H. V. Topping is an honorary professor at the University of Pecs in Hungary and an emeritus professor at Heriot-Watt University in the UK. J. M. Adam and F. J. Pallarés are senior lecturers at the Universidad Politécnica de Valencia in Spain. R. Bru and M. L. Romero are professors at the Universidad Politécnica de Valencia.