Research Guides: Emergency Management: Careers in Emergency Management

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Emergency Management Directors Emergency management directors prepare plans that help government agencies, businesses, and other organizations respond effectively to natural disasters, massive power outages, civil unrest, large-scale cyberattacks, and other emergencies. When an emergency arises, they lead the response team. Emergency management directors are also known as directors of emergency preparedness and response, and those who are employed by businesses, hospitals, and colleges and universities may be known as business continuity directors and business continuity and crisis management directors.
Emergency Medical Technicians Emergency medical technicians (EMTs) respond to medical emergencies to provide immediate treatment for ill or injured persons both on the scene and during transport to a medical facility. They function as part of an emergency medical team, and the range of medical services they perform varies according to their level of training and certification.
Emergency Services Dispatchers Emergency services dispatchers answer 911 telephone and alarm system calls and, if necessary, coordinate the dispatch of emergency responders. They also provide basic medical instructions to callers until first responders (emergency medical technicians, firefighters, police officers) can arrive.

O-NET OnLine

O*Net
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Emergency Management Directors Plan and direct disaster response or crisis management activities, provide disaster preparedness training, and prepare emergency plans and procedures for natural (e.g., hurricanes, floods, earthquakes), wartime, or technological (e.g., nuclear power plant emergencies or hazardous materials spills) disasters or hostage situations.
Emergency Medical Technicians Assess injuries and illnesses and administer basic emergency medical care. May transport injured or sick persons to medical facilities.
Ambulance Drivers and Attendants, Except Emergency Medical Technicians Drive ambulance or assist ambulance driver in transporting sick, injured, or convalescent persons. Assist in lifting patients.

Resume Assistance

R3 Career Services
Since 2007, R3 (Refocus, Retrain & Re-employ) Career Services has assisted thousands of adults in the community with services designed to navigate career and employment goals. Weekly classes and workshops are available, such as Resume Clinics, Computer Skills workshops, Virtual Mock Interviews and more!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Emergency Management Directors Emergency management directors prepare plans and procedures for responding to natural disasters or other emergencies. They also help lead the response during and after emergencies.
EMTs and Paramedics Emergency medical technicians (EMTs) and paramedics assess injuries and illnesses, provide emergency medical care, and may transport patients to medical facilities.

Career Video

Emergency Medical Technician—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight

"What is it like to be an emergency medical technician? In this Career Q&A video interview, Jeff Broyles talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success working as an emergency medical technician. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years."

Job Search

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, to help people explore and find jobs.
USA Jobs
An official website of the United States government. Search for federal government job opportunities.
Careers with the State of NC
Search for state government job opportunities.
Rowan County Emergency Services Employment
The emergency service department's four divisions (911, EMS, Emergency Management, & Fire) offer unique opportunities for individuals seeking to work in a fast-paced, challenging environment. The department utilizes state of the art equipment and vehicles and is a leader in regional public safety services.
NC careers
Search for current job openings by Occupation Name and Location.