Research Guides: Emergency Management: Find Articles

Scholarly Journals

International Journal of Emergency Services
Provides a platform for the development of scholarship in the management of all emergency services, including universal services such as Fire and Rescue, Police, and Ambulance services and more specialized services such as the Coastguard, Air-Sea or Mountain Rescue.
2012 - Present (delayed 1 year)
International Journal of Disaster Risk Science
Open Access. Publishes research papers addressing theoretical and methodological issues in disaster risk science, emergency response technology, and risk management.
Mar 2013 - Present
Disaster Prevention and Management
Publishes high-quality research which advances knowledge and practice in the field of disaster risk reduction and management.
1995 - Present (delayed 1 year)
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine
Distributes information relevant to the practice of out-of-hospital and in-hospital emergency medical care, disaster medicine, emergency public health and safety, and disaster mental health and psychosocial support.
Feb 2011 - Present (delayed 1 year)

more... less...

PDM is sponsored by, and the official publication of, the World Association of Disaster and Emergency Medicine (WADEM).

Databases

ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
JSTOR Essential
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Materials Science Database
The collection contains materials science related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database.
Science Database
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Off-Campus Database Access

Begin by visiting the Library website and clicking on the desired resource. You should be prompted for your credentials when needed.

You will click the button and log in using your Rowan-Cabarrus user credentials (same username and password as your BlackBoard Account or School Outlook Email Account). This process may require authentication with your selected method.

Trouble Logging in? Get detailed information and troubleshooting tips regarding online access.

Use the CRAP Test

It is challenging to determine whether information from the Web is credible and can be trusted. Is it factual? Biased? Relevant to your topic?

Here is a handy acronym to help you determine if a source may be CRAP.

CURRENCY: How recently was this information published/posted? Can you find a publication date?
RELIABILITY: Is the information supported by evidence? Can it be confirmed by other sources?
AUTHORITY: Who wrote the information - are they an expert or knowledgeable in their field? (i.e. For health information, did a doctor or nurse write it?)
PURPOSE / POINT OF VIEW: Why was it written? To sell something? To sway opinion? Is it biased toward a particular point of view?

FEMA Region 4 News

Librarian

Kathryn Troyer

Email Me

Contact:

North Campus, Building N106
1333 Jake Alexander Blvd., S.
Salisbury, N.C. 28146

704-216-3946

Subjects: AST-Astronomy, BIO-Biology, BTC-Biotechnology, CHM-Chemistry, FIP-Fire Protection, MAT-Math

Trade Journal

Fire Management Today
Fire Management Today is published by the Forest Service, an agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, DC. The purpose of Fire Management Today is to share information related to wildland fire management for the benefit of the wildland fire community.
Fall 1999 - Present

Ask-A-Librarian

Rowan-Cabarrus Student or Faculty? Need Help? Click the Chat Now Icon!

This service is only for Rowan-Cabarrus Community College faculty, staff, and students.

Emergency Management: Find Articles

New All-in-One Search