Poet, essayist, musician, and visionary, Hildegard of Bingen is the most well-known female mystic of the Middle Ages, renowned in Europe for advising popes and bishops, conducting theological debates with Bernard of Clairvaux, and composing Ordo Virtutum. In this program, host Avril Benoit and theology experts Dr. Kathy Garay and Dr. Madeleine Jeay of McMaster University tour the abbey Hildegard founded in the Rhine river valley. Dramatic reenactments highlight key events in Hildegard’s life. Audio accompaniments include selections of Hildegard’s musical compositions. (49 minutes)
The most celebrated work of Dante Alighieri is certainly the Divina Commedia—a vision of hell, purgatory, and heaven that provides a strangely surrealistic view of medieval attitudes on religious dogma and the price of disobedience. In this program, dramatizations of scenes depicting courtly love, sexual love, love of God, and love of the Virgin Mary are featured. A BBC Production. (50 minutes)
A Companion to Medieval English Literature and Culture C. 1350-C. 1500 by
A Companion to Medieval English Literature and Culture, c.1350-c.1500 challenges readers to think beyond a narrowly defined canon and conventional disciplinary boundaries. A ground-breaking collection of newly-commissioned essays on medieval literature and culture. Encourages students to think beyond a narrowly defined canon and conventional disciplinary boundaries. Reflects the erosion of the traditional, rigid boundary between medieval and early modern literature. Stresses the importance of constructing contexts for reading literature. Explores the extent to which medieval literature is in dialogue with other cultural products, including the literature of other countries, manuscripts and religion. Includes close readings of frequently-studied texts, including texts by Chaucer, Langland, the Gawain poet, and Hoccleve. Confronts some of the controversies that exercise students of medieval literature, such as those connected with literary theory, love, and chivalry and war.
All Things Chaucer: An Encyclopedia of Chaucer's World by
Chaucer is the most widely read medieval author, and his works reflect the fascinating world of the Middle Ages. Written for students and general readers, this book includes numerous alphabetically arranged entries on items mentioned in all of his works and references the items to his writings. In addition to exploring Chaucer's material world, the encyclopedia surveys the beliefs, customs, and rituals of the Middle Ages. The encyclopedia broadens the general reader's understanding of Chaucer and his world and helps students analyze and interpret his texts.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature (eBook) by
Often misleadingly called the Dark Ages, the period between the fall of Rome and the Renaissance was a time of great creativity. The Middle Ages gave rise to some of the world's most enduring and influential literary works, including Dante's Commedia, Chaucer's The Canterbury TaleS≪/i>, and a large body of Arthurian lore and legend. This reference is a comprehensive guide to literature written between 500 and 1500.
Sir Gawain by
Restores Gawain of Camelot to his true role as the foremost representative and servant of the Goddess. - The full story of Gawain of Camelot that restores a lost piece of the great Arthurian tapestry. - Traces the historical trends that demoted Gawain from the foremost knight of the Round Table to a villain and womanizer. - The result of more than 20 years of research by one of the worlds leading scholars of Arthurian mythology. Sir Gawain, the nephew of King Arthur, was once the most important knight at Arthurs court, a shining example of all that was best in chivalry. He even outranked the famous Lancelot. Yet as the popularity of the Arthurian romances grew, the character of Gawain became increasingly diminished in popular literature. John Matthews explores the phenomenon that influenced the recasting of Gawain from hero to womanizing villain, providing a scholarly context through which Gawains role as the representative of the Goddess upon Earth--the real Green Knight of Camelot and Sovereigntys Champion--may be restored. In addition, the author presents a unique view of the mythology of Britain and its connections with the historical changes that took place over many hundreds of years in the religious and mystical traditions of the country.
Women in the Middle Ages (eBook) by
The experiences of women in the Middle Ages have been receiving growing amounts of attention, and we are only now beginning to appreciate the full extent of their contributions. Women significantly shaped medieval political, economic, and cultural life as rulers, religious leaders, wives, patrons, teachers, healers, merchants, warriors, and agricultural laborers. They also produced enduring works in historiography, literature, music, and the visual arts.