chat loading...

Skip to Main Content

ENG 232 - American Literature II: Welcome

This course covers selected works in American literature from 1865 to the present. Emphasis is placed on historical background, cultural context, and literary analysis of selected prose, poetry, and drama

New All-in-One Search

Salem Press ebooks for Literature - Critical Surveys

Critical Survey of Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature by Paul Di Filippo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682172780

Publication Date: 2017-03-07

The new edition of Critical Survey of Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature, previously published as Magill's Survey of Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature and Classics of Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature, provides descriptions of hundreds of famous and well-regarded works of science fiction and fantasy, summarizing plots and analyzing the works in terms of their contributions to literature.
Critical Survey of Young Adult Literature by Salem Press Editors; Amy Pattee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781619259713

Publication Date: 2016-04-21

Critical Survey of Young Adult Literature aims to discuss the most representative young adult works that forms today's canon for academic coursework and library collection development, with over 300 essays of clear, concise, and accessible analysis. This collection includes classic young adult titles like The Outsiders, popular series like Divergent, plus a variety of significant themes, film adaptations, and other sections important to the popular young adult category.

Salem Press ebooks for Literature - Critical Insights: Themes

Critical Insights: Civil Rights Literature by Christopher A. Varlack (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682172681

Publication Date: 2017-02-22

American civil rights literature has largely been associated with speeches, letters, and non-fiction works produced by African-American activists of the 1950s and 60s such as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Malcolm X.
Critical Insights: Historical Fiction by Salem Press Editors; Virginia Brackett (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682177105

Publication Date: 2018-01-30

This volume encourages readers to engage with plots based on historical events and characters in several ways. They may re-imagine history in cases where it is reconstructed; become better acquainted with history as it is personalized through specific characters; and, perhaps most importantly, even question history.
Critical Insights: Holocaust Literature by Dorian Stuber (Editor)
ISBN: 9781619255272

Publication Date: 2016-10-27

From 1941 to 1945, the regime of Nazi Germany committed mass genocide against six million Jewish people in Europe, as well as five million Gypsies, homosexuals, disabled citizens, communists, and more.
Critical Insights: The Immigrant Experience by Salem Press Editors; Maryse Jayasuriya (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682176924

Publication Date: 2018-03-21

This collection focuses on the variety of immigrant experiences that have been depicted in literary works and the techniques that immigrant writers have used in fiction and non-fiction.
Critical Insights: Paranoia, Alienations and Fear by Kimberly Drake (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682171264

Publication Date: 2016-12-30

Fear, paranoia, and alienation are terms that pull in different directions, but they also overlap in key ways, most having to do with the idea that the mind's apprehension of danger, whether that apprehension is accurate or not, can lead to expected emotions.
Critical Insights: Rebellion by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Robert C. Evans (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682175576

Publication Date: 2017-11-30

This volume will explore the history, themes, styles, and forms of Rebellion in literature. It will focus on defining works, especially from British and American writers such as Melville, Dickinson, Shelley, and Amis. Authors represented will be diverse in gender and ethnicity as well as in their economic, spiritual, and political orientations.
Critical Insights: Social Justice and American Literature by Salem Press Editors; Jeff Birkenstein (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682175651

Publication Date: 2017-11-30

Social Justice and American Literature will examine the work of Richard Wright, Amy Lowell, Philip Roth, Kate Chopin and James Baldwin among others. Themes that will be dealt with are: gender and feminism; gay writers; Native American, Asian American, and Hispanic/Border writers; Appalachian and socio-economic justice.
Critical Insights: Southwestern Literature by William Brandon (Editor)
ISBN: 9781619258426

Publication Date: 2016-01-20

Novels of the American Southwest most often deal with battles between man and the desert landscape, quests of Manifest Destiny, tales of the Old West, and cross-cultural conflicts between white American settlers and Native American tribes, including the Navajo and Apache. This volume explores these and many other themes, found in the works of such authors as Willa Cather, Cormac McCarthy, Larry McMurtry, and more.
Critical Insights: The Woman Warrior by Linda Trinh Moser (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, HU 56 .T24 2016, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus

ISBN: 9781682173947

Publication Date: 2016-11-04

Maxine Hong Kingston's The Woman Warrior: Memoir of a Girlhood Among Ghosts is, according to the Modern Language Association, the most taught text on U.S. campuses, featured in Literature, Asian American Studies, Asian Studies, Women's Studies, and Anthropology, as well as other departments.

AI in Library Databases

Exciting News: AI is Here to Enhance Your Library Experience!

We’re thrilled to announce the integration of AI-powered tools into our library databases! This means faster, smarter, and more intuitive research assistance at your fingertips. Whether you’re searching for scholarly articles, refining citations, or exploring new topics, AI can help streamline the process—so you spend less time sifting through information and more time making meaningful discoveries.

💡 What Can AI Do for You?

Smarter Searches: Get precise results tailored to your queries.
Effortless Summaries: Quickly understand key takeaways from articles.
Enhanced Citations: Improve accuracy with AI-assisted referencing.
Research Guidance: Receive topic suggestions and deeper insights.

AI isn’t replacing your expert librarians—it’s here to empower your learning and make knowledge more accessible than ever. Ready to explore the future of research? Try it out today!

ProQuest's AI-powered Research Assistant appears when a search is initiated from most of the databases within ProQuest Central. Read more about the AI Research Assistant on their blog and in this FAQ.
AI Insights from EBSCO provides clear summaries of full-text articles, highlighting 2-5 key points, which helps researchers quickly assess the relevance of the article to their research and make better use of their time. It is available in most Ebsco databases. Read more about it here.

Today's Hours

For details on locations and scheduled closures.

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Instructional Librarian
South Campus, 8am-5pm
704-216-3544
laurie.robb@rccc.edu

Subjects: ACA-Academic Related, AHR-Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Technology, AUT-Automotive Systems Technology, COM-Communications, COS-Cosmetology, DRA-Drama, ENG-English, MSM-Motorsports Management Technology, PSY-Psychology

Books from the Catalog

A Jury of Her Peers by Elaine Showalter A Jury of Her Peers is an unprecedented literary landmark: the first comprehensive history of American women writers from 1650 to 2000. In a narrative of immense scope and fascination, brimming with Elaine Showalter's characteristic wit and incisive opinions we are introduced to more than 250 female writers. These include not only famous and expected names (Harriet Beecher Stowe, Willa Cather, Dorothy Parker, Flannery O'Connor, Gwendolyn Brooks, Grace Paley, Toni Morrison, and Jodi Picoult among them), but also many who were once successful and acclaimed yet now are little known. Whether or not readers agree with the book's roster of writers, A Jury of Her Peers is an irresistible invitation to join the debate, to discover long-lost great writers, and to return to familiar titles with a deeper appreciation. It is a monumental work that will greatly enrich our understanding of American literary history and culture.
ISBN: 9781400041237

Publication Date: 2009-02-24
The Cambridge History of African American Literature by Maryemma Graham (Editor); Jerry Washington Ward The first major twenty-first century history of four hundred years of black writing, The Cambridge History of African American Literature presents a comprehensive overview of the literary traditions, oral and print, of African-descended peoples in the United States. Expert contributors, drawn from the United States and beyond, emphasize the dual nature of each text discussed as a work of art created by an individual and as a response to unfolding events in American cultural, political, and social history.
Call Number: PS153.N5 G685 2011 NORTH

ISBN: 9780521872171

Publication Date: 2011-02-03

Ask-A-Librarian

Rowan-Cabarrus Student or Faculty? Need Help? Click the Chat Now Icon!

This service is only for Rowan-Cabarrus Community College faculty, staff, and students.

Salem Press ebooks for Literature - Critical Approaches

Critical Approaches to Literature - Feminist by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus Circulating books PN 56 .F46 C75 2018

ISBN: 9781682175774

Publication Date: 2018-01-16

The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Moral by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, PN 49 .C75 2017, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus

ISBN: 9781682172742

Publication Date: 2017-04-26

The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Multicultural by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, PN 56 .M8 C75 2017, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus

ISBN: 9781682175750

Publication Date: 2017-07-21

The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship.
Critical Approaches to Literature - Psychological by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, PN 56 .C75 2017, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus

ISBN: 9781682172728

Publication Date: 2017-03-27

The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship.