Welcome to Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Library!
The Library at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College supports the mission of the college by being an active and vibrant partner in the learning experience; preparing information-literate citizens to compete and succeed in a 21st century workplace.
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Library provides appropriate services to all students and faculty of the College regardless of their location or learning method. The Libraries are located on North Campus (Salisbury), South Campus (Concord), and the North Carolina Research Campus (NCRC) (Kannapolis). Tutoring and Distance Learning also maintain locations in the Library spaces, while North Campus is the College Archive's current home. The Rowan-Cabarrus Archive comprises a rich collection of over 1,750 items documenting the College's history, from 1962 to the present.
The Libraries provide conventional services such as borrowing materials, Interlibrary loans, course reserves, technology access, and research assistance. Each location includes study rooms, collaborative spaces, quiet areas, computer labs, and printing/copying assistance. The NCRC campus provides access to an "active study space" in addition to traditional options. The Libraries regularly host programs to support student educational goals and foster lifelong learning.
Other services such as a book delivery service, research databases, the Library's Catalog, research guides, discovery service, chat reference, and virtual instruction are available to all students, regardless of location or learning method. The Library has also established a mobile hotspot program to tackle internet accessibility and affordability barriers.
The Library offers instructional support resources and services to faculty, including instruction, training with embedding Library materials within Blackboard, embedded Librarians, Open Educational Resources (OER), and information literacy tutorials. The Library Liaison program facilitates collaboration with faculty or departmental programs that might require Library support.
The Library evaluates its services regularly and uses the results for improvement. Leveraging focus groups, surveys, and analytics, we examine how the Library runs, from reviewing programs and attendance to evaluating resource usage trends, foot traffic, hours of operation, and user engagement.
Administration
|
Tim Hunter Director of Library Services Office: NCRC Library, 124 704-216-3694| timothy.hunter@rccc.edu |
 |
Lisa Shores Coordinator of Library Services Office: North Library, 203 704-216-3693 | lisa.shores@rccc.edu |
Campus Leads
|
NCRC Campus Tim Hunter Office: NCRC Library, 124 704-216-3694| timothy.hunter@rccc.edu |
|
North Campus Lisa Shores Office: North Library, 203 704-216-3693 | lisa.shores@rccc.edu |
|
South Campus Laurie Robb Office: South Library, 704-216-3544 | laurie.robb@rccc.edu |
Public Services
Tony Lippard
Circulation Manager
Office: North Library, 209
704-216-3691 | tony.lippard@rccc.edu
Collection Services
|
Lisa Shores Collection Development Librarian Office: North Library, 203 704-216-3693 | lisa.shores@rccc.edu |
 |
Dana Ravo |
Instruction and Outreach
Laurie Robb
Instruction & Outreach Librarian
Office: South Library
704-216-3544 | laurie.robb@rccc.edu
Digital Services
Zach Housel
Digital Services Librarian
Office: South Library
704-216-3613 | zachary.housel@rccc.edu
Archive and Repository Services
 |
Laura Silva Archive / Cataloging Librarian Office: North Library, 202 704-216-7286 | laura.silva@rccc.edu |
|
Dana Ravo |
The Library Welcomes Collaboration with Faculty
Rowan-Cabarrus Librarians support faculty and students in many ways. Along with providing resources, Librarians provide the following services:
The Library also provides academic and social events throughout the year. This year we are hosting a Banned Books event with a reading group, a Human Library, National Library Week events, and much more. Stay tuned for more information and we hope you and your students will join us for our events.
Library Resources
The Library provides access to thousands of resources including, print books, eBooks, streaming media, primary sources, and research databases.
IMPORTANT! Always check library resource links you're using in course materials before the beginning of each semester.
Leisure Reading
In addition to our academic resources, the Library provides access to several resources containing fiction, comics and graphic novels, general interest magazines, and more.
ComicsPlus - provides Unlimited, simultaneous access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga.
*Comics plus requires users to create their own account. Initial access must be done on-campus. After an account is created on-campus, comics plus can be accessed anywhere with the account made by the user.
Flipster - is an easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand that provides students and faculty with remote access to digital magazines.
Dogwood Digital Library (OverDrive) - Downloadable popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for your reading and listening pleasure.
Novelist Plus - is a trusted source of expert read-alike recommendations, book lists, book club resources, and more.
Image Databases
Images can help convey a message that is not always possible with text alone. The Library provides access to millions of images for faculty to use in their teaching.
Artstor - features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstor’s collections also include Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research
Getty Images - is a subscription database that is home to a variety of visual images, including photographs, clips, and illustrations that can be downloaded for royalty-free educational use. Once an image is downloaded, we retain access to the image for educational use indefinitely. Contact Laurie Robb for more information and to browse the database of images.
Streaming Media
The Library provides access to thousands of streaming videos for use in teaching, including feature films, educational, and documentary films.
The vast majority contain closed captioning and transcripts. In addition, many divide the films into segments for your convenience.
Alexander Academic Video Online - is curated for the educational experience. The massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons. This resource is provided in a patron-driven aquisition model (PDA).
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Innovative streaming video collections, of real patients and therapists, created to inspire clinical excellence for faculty, students and clinicians in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Kanopy is headquartered in San Francisco, California and has offices in Sydney, Australia. This resource is provided in a patron-driven aquisition model (PDA).
Swank allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time.
The Library provides a wide variety of eBook platforms, providing access to quality monographs for faculty and students anytime, anywhere. The vast majority of our eBooks can be downloaded for offline access.
A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource. IMPORTANT - When creating account-Choose NC LIVE as your library and enter any number you like in the library card space.
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
Search the complete collection of chapter and article abstracts from IGI Global’s expanding portfolio of over 4,500+ reference books and 185+ scholarly journals that are featured in IGI Global’s award-winning InfoSci®-Books.
eBooks covering Literature and the Humanities.
Premier database for Computer Science/Engineering, as well as Business. Students and faculty, and librarians can create playlists to share.
The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Collection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Academic Research Databases
The Library provides academic research databases on topics covering all major subject areas of the college. Databases provide scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, multi-media resources, and more.
Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African-American history.
Bloomberg Businessweek helps global leaders stay ahead with insights and in-depth analysis on the people, companies, events, and trends shaping today's complex, global economy.
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.
American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Infobase Ancient and Medieval History
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary sources, and more.
Infobase Modern World History Database
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today.
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Rehabilitation Reference Center
RRC is an easy-to-use system that connects therapists with information on diseases and conditions, drug information, patient education materials, exercise images, and practice resources. Coverage includes Physical therapy, Occupational therapy, and Speech therapy.
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas and Physiology & Pathology
The Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas is the perfect support material for your Anatomy and Physiology classes! Learn about the complete male and female gross anatomy with thousands of 3D models that span 11 systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive. Physiology & Pathology is an interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body. Visible Body Physiology & Pathology works through interactive lessons that explain the step-by-step breakdown of common cardiovascular, renal, respiratory, gastrointestinal, and musculoskeletal processes.
For a list of all Library Resources, check out our A-Z Database List.
News & Primary Sources
The Library provides access to both current and historic newspapers, as well as multiple primary source databases.
Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African-American history.
Access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, including videos, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Vols. 1-5
Composed of five chronological Series spanning from 1684 to 1912, the AAS Historical Periodicals Collection is one of the premier digital libraries documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century. The scope of the collection is vast with over 6,500 full-text titles, featuring over 10 million pages of digitized content representing more than two dozen languages.
An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Find primary sources to use in school projects, academic research, family history research, and more.
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
GPO (OA)
U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Infobase Ancient and Medieval History
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary sources, and more.
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today.
America’s News: 2021 Edition features national, regional, and local news content that delivers multiple perspectives on practically any issue, person, or event across the country. It is the most comprehensive domestic news resource available.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
North Carolina General Assembly (OA)
Includes links to find representatives and senators for both the NCGA and the US Congress by county, district, and Zip code.
Collection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Library Niche
The Library has added Library Niche, which is a learning tool inside Blackboard. Rowan-Cabarrus Library tutorials, videos, and other resources are available at your fingertips along with other quality resources to help your students with research and other library skills.
Directions for Integrating Niche Tutorials and Using Quizzes
Annual Reports! Archive Services has digitized Rowan-Cabarrus Annual Reports from 1974-1975, and 1981-2007. These annual reports contain interesting information on budgets, new and existing programs, partnerships, and Board of Trustees members.
Historical Photographs! Archive Services is in the process of digitizing the Historical Photographs Collection. Box 1, Faculty, Staff, and Board photographs, and Box 2, Student Life, are complete. So if you want to marvel over the many changes our North Campus has gone through, or find photographs of old students, you can now do so!
All the digitized items can be seen via the ArchivesSpace portal; you can also browse the physical collections currently available in Archive Services.