chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fire Protection Technology: Find Articles

The Fire Protection Technology curriculum is designed to provide individuals with technical and professional knowledge to make decisions regarding fire protection for both public and private sectors. It also provides a sound foundation for more learning

Subject Journals

Check for online issues
Enter the title of the journal in the search box to see which issues we have online.

 

Databases

Finding the Full-Text of an Article

  1. Some databases will have links to the full-text of the article right in the database.  The articles usually have a link for either HTML Full Text  or PDF Full Text under the citation information.

    • HTML Full Text = all of the text is displayed but no pictures or formatting
    • PDF Full Text = Essentially a photocopy of the original journal pages
  2. If the article isn't available online, search the periodical listing to see if the journal is on the library shelves. Come to the library and get the article.

  3. When we don't have the publication, but you really want the article you can request it through Interlibrary Loan [ILL]. 

Citation Guidelines:

Very good examples and explanations of the correct format for citing information can be obtained by clicking the following entries.

Logon to
* www.rccc.edu
* click LEARN tab
* select Library option
* under Research heading click Citations
* Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
* select MLA Guide or APA Guide

Articles

Find Articles

Research ----- Select ----- Evaluate

Do NOT believe anything that you see, hear or read from newspapers, books, journals, radio, television or government, unless it is consistent with what you already know to be true or unless you have taken the time to research the matter to prove its accuracy to your satisfaction.

paraphrased from Neal Boortz' National Talk Show Host program

 

Search for articles on your topic in one of the following online databases.

Tips:

  • Placing "Quotation Marks" around your keywords restricts the search to that phrase, not each word in the phrase
  • After your initial search entry, you can refine your search by Full Text, Peer Reviewed or Year
  • "Peer Reviewed" means that the article has been critically reviewed by experts before it was published
  • "Cite" tab on right displays the already formatted citation for the article

Click  Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide by North Carolina Statue University for a description of the difference between popular, scholarly and trade publications.

To find an article in a magazine or journal, go to https://www.nclive.org/

Select by title

1.  Select the Search by Title link on the NC Live index page.

2.  Enter the magazine or journal title and press Enter.

3.  Select the year published, date of issue and then go to the cited page or view the articles until you find the one you are looking for.

Librarian

Isabel Folck's picture
Isabel Folck