Research Guides: Fire Protection Technology: Find Articles

Scholarly Journals

Fire Technology
Fire Technology publishes original contributions, both theoretical and empirical, that contribute to the solution of problems in fire safety science and engineering. Publishes applied research dealing with the full range of actual and potential fire hazards facing humans and the environment.
Jan 2001 - Present (delayed 1 year)

more... less...

It covers fire safety science and engineering problems relevant in industrial, operational, cultural, and environmental applications, including modeling, testing, detection, suppression, human behavior, wildfires, structures, and risk analysis.
Journal of Structural Fire Engineering
The objective of the Journal of Structural Fire Engineering (JSFE) is to report state-of-the-art research and state of the practice on behaviour of structures and structural material including steel, concrete, masonry, timber and aluminium when subjected to high temperatures such as fire.
2016 - Present (delayed 1 year)

more... less...

The journal also brings experimental and theoretical research and findings from advances in performance of structures in fire to engineering solutions. These are valuable in assisting in improving the fire safety of buildings by linking the scientific research in structural fire engineering with fire protection and by improving buildings fire codes, and fire design standards.
Fire Ecology
Open access. Fire Ecology is the international scientific journal of the Association for Fire Ecology. Discusses the role of fire in forests and natural settings, including historical fires and their impact on landscape and ecology, the roles and effects of prescribed fires and fuelbreaks in fire ecology.
Feb 2005 - Present

Databases

JSTOR Essential
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Materials Science Database
The collection contains materials science related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Science Database
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Off-Campus Database Access

Begin by visiting the Library website and clicking on the desired resource. You should be prompted for your credentials when needed.

You will click the button and log in using your Rowan-Cabarrus user credentials (same username and password as your BlackBoard Account or School Outlook Email Account). This process may require authentication with your selected method.

Trouble Logging in? Get detailed information and troubleshooting tips regarding online access.

Use the CRAP Test

It is challenging to determine whether information from the Web is credible and can be trusted. Is it factual? Biased? Relevant to your topic?

Here is a handy acronym to help you determine if a source may be CRAP.

CURRENCY: How recently was this information published/posted? Can you find a publication date?
RELIABILITY: Is the information supported by evidence? Can it be confirmed by other sources?
AUTHORITY: Who wrote the information - are they an expert or knowledgeable in their field? (i.e. For health information, did a doctor or nurse write it?)
PURPOSE / POINT OF VIEW: Why was it written? To sell something? To sway opinion? Is it biased toward a particular point of view?

More Resources Available Online!

Fire cover for Volume 7, Issue 5 (May 2024)

International Fire Fighter Magazine Cover for volume 107 NO. 1

Magazine Cover for March 2025 Edition of "Fire Engineering"

Librarian

Kathryn Troyer

Email Me

Contact:

North Campus, Building N106
1333 Jake Alexander Blvd., S.
Salisbury, N.C. 28146

704-216-3946

Subjects: AST-Astronomy, BIO-Biology, BTC-Biotechnology, CHM-Chemistry, FIP-Fire Protection, MAT-Math

Magazine

FireHouse
Firehouse's mission is to provide fire/rescue professionals with information, news, training, and community to help them do their jobs safer and more efficiently.
Jan 2005 - Present

Trade Journal

Fire Management Today
Fire Management Today is published by the Forest Service, an agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, DC. The purpose of Fire Management Today is to share information related to wildland fire management for the benefit of the wildland fire community.
Fall 1999 - Present

Fire Protection Technology: Find Articles

New All-in-One Search