Chemistry: 1001 Practice Problems for Dummies (+ Free Online Practice) by
Practice your way to a better grade in your Chemistry class Chemistry: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies gives you 1,001 opportunities to practice solving problems on all the topics covered in your chemistry class--in the book and online! Get extra practice with tricky subjects, solidify what you've already learned, and get in-depth walk-throughs for every problem with this useful book. These practice problems and detailed answer explanations will catalyze the reactions in your brain, no matter what your skill level. Thanks to Dummies, you have a resource to help you put key concepts into practice. Work through multiple-choice practice problems on all Chemistry topics covered in class Step through detailed solutions to build your understanding Access practice questions online to study anywhere, any time Improve your grade and up your study game with practice, practice, practice The material presented in Chemistry: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies is an excellent resource for students, as well as parents and tutors looking to help supplement classroom instruction. Chemistry: 1001 Practice Problems For Dummies (9781119883531) was previously published as 1,001 Chemistry Practice Problems For Dummies (9781118549322). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product.
Chemistry Essentials for Dummies by
Chemistry Essentials For Dummies (9781119591146) was previously published as Chemistry Essentials For Dummies (9780470618363). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. Whether studying chemistry as part of a degree requirement or as part of a core curriculum, students will find Chemistry Essentials For Dummies to be an invaluable quick reference guide to the fundamentals of this often challenging course. Chemistry Essentials For Dummies contains content focused on key topics only, with discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical two-semester high school chemistry class or a college level Chemistry I course, from bonds and reactions to acids, bases, and the mole. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical chemistry concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need to a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
Chemistry by
A practical, complete, and easy-to-use guide for understanding major chemistry concepts and terms Master the fundamentals of chemistry with this fast and easy guide. Chemistry is a fundamental science that touches all other sciences, including biology, physics, electronics, environmental studies, astronomy, and more. Thousands of students have successfully used the previous editions of Chemistry: Concepts and Problems, A Self-Teaching Guide to learn chemistry, either independently, as a refresher, or in parallel with a college chemistry course. This newly revised edition includes updates and additions to improve your success in learning chemistry. This book uses an interactive, self-teaching method including frequent questions and study problems, increasing both the speed of learning and retention. Monitor your progress with self-tests, and master chemistry quickly. This revised Third Edition provides a fresh, step-by-step approach to learning that requires no prerequisites, lets you work at your own pace, and reinforces what you learn, ensuring lifelong mastery. Master the science of basic chemistry with this innovative, self-paced study guide Teach yourself chemistry, refresh your knowledge in preparation for medical studies or other coursework, or enhance your college chemistry course Use self-study features including review questions and quizzes to ensure that you're really learning the material Prepare for a career in the sciences, medicine, or engineering with the core content in this user-friendly guide Authored by expert postsecondary educators, this unique book gently leads students to deeper levels and concepts with practice, critical thinking, problem solving, and self-assessment at every stage.
A Dictionary of Chemistry by
A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research.For this eighth edition, the Dictionary has been fully revised, making it the most up-to-date reference work of its kind. Almost 200 entirely new entries have been added, including bioethanol, genome, molecular spintronics, oganesson, phosphorylation, and reticular chemistry. Areas such asanalytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, and organic chemistry have been expanded to reflect recent developments in the field.The dictionary's supplementary material has also been enhanced as new diagrams provide readers with useful visual aids, and the appendices have been substantially updated. All web links have been revised and updated, and are easily accessible via the companion website.
Organic Chemistry I Workbook for Dummies by
Need help with organic chemistry? Get extra practice with this workbook If you're looking for a little extra help with organic chemistry than your Organic Chemistry I class offers, Organic Chemistry I Workbook For Dummies is exactly what you need! It lets you take the theories you're learning (and maybe struggling with) in class and practice them in the same format you'll find on class exams and other licensing exams, like the MCAT. It offers tips and tricks to memorize difficult concepts and shortcuts to solving problems. This reference guide and practice book explains the concepts of organic chemistry (such as functional groups, resonance, alkanes, and stereochemistry) in a concise, easy-to-understand format that helps you refine your skills. It also includes real practice with hundreds of exam questions to test your knowledge. Walk through the answers and clearly identify where you went wrong (or right) with each problem Get practical advice on acing your exams Use organic chemistry in practical applications Organic Chemistry I Workbook For Dummies provides you with opportunities to review the material and practice solving problems based on the topics covered in a typical Organic Chemistry I course. With the help of this practical reference, you can face down your exam and pass on to Organic Chemistry II with confidence!
Organic Chemistry II for Dummies by
With Dummies at your side, you can conquer O-chem Organic chemistry is, well, tough. With Organic Chemistry II For Dummies, you can (and will!) succeed at one of the most difficult college courses you'll encounter. We make the subject less daunting in the second semester, with a helpful review of what you learned in Organic Chemistry I, clear descriptions of organic reactions, hints for working with synthesis and roadmaps, and beyond. You'll love the straightforward, effective way we explain advanced O-chem material. This updated edition is packed with new practice problems, fresh examples, and updated exercises to help you learn quickly. Observe from a macroscopic and microscopic view, understand the properties of organic compounds, get an overview of carbonyl group basics, and everything else you'll need to pass the class. Organic Chemistry II For Dummies is packed with tips to help you boost your exam scores, stay on track with assignments, and navigate advanced topics with confidence. Brush up on concepts from Organic Chemistry I Understand the properties of organic compounds Access exercises and practice questions to hone your knowledge Improve your grade in the second semester of Organic Chemistry Organic Chemistry II For Dummies is for students who want a reference that explains concepts and terms more simply. It's also a perfect refresher O-chem veterans preparing for the MCAT.
Organic Redox Chemistry by
Organic Redox Chemistry Explore the most recent advancements and synthesis applications in redox chemistry Redox chemistry has emerged as a crucial research topic in synthetic method development. In Organic Redox Chemistry: Chemical, Photochemical and Electrochemical Syntheses, some key researchers in this field, including editors Dr. Frédéric W. Patureau and the late Dr. Jun-Ichi Yoshida, deliver an insightful exploration of this rapidly developing topic. This book highlights electron transfer processes in synthesis by using different techniques to initiate them, allowing for a multi-directional perspective in organic redox chemistry. Covering a wide array of the important and recent developments in the field, Organic Redox Chemistry will earn a place in the libraries of chemists seeking a one-stop resource that compares chemical, photochemical, and electrochemical methods in organic synthesis.
Cooking As a Chemical Reaction by
With this book, students are able to perform experiments and then make observations that they will frequently see in the kitchen and other food preparation and processing areas and learn the science behind these phenomena. The second edition of Cooking as a Chemical Reaction: Culinary Science with Experiments features new chapters on food hygiene and safety, kitchen terminology, and taste pairing, as well as an expanded chapter on the role of food additives in culinary transformations. The text uses experiments and experiences from the kitchen, and other food preparation areas, rather than theory, as the basic means of explaining the scientific facts and principles behind food preparation and food processing. It engages students in their own learning process.　This textbook is designed so that students can first perform certain experiments and record their observations in tables provided in the book. The book then explains the science behind their observations. Features: Experiments and recipes form the basic means of teaching culinary chemistry Features new chapters on food hygiene and safety, kitchen terminology, and taste pairing Employs real kitchen practices to explain the subjects Covers traditional food chemistry including water in culinary transformations, protein, carbohydrates, fats, sensorial properties Many concepts throughout the book are marked with a symbol that indicates the concept is one that they will come across frequently not just in this text, but in the kitchen and other food preparation and processing areas. A second symbol precedes the scientific explanation of the observation made during the experiments in the chapter. At the end of each chapter, students are presented with important points to remember, more ideas to try, and study questions to reinforce concepts that were presented in the chapter. The book is designed for each chapter to be read and studied in chronological order, as the concepts of each chapter will reoccur in subsequent chapters. Written at the undergraduate level,　this book is designed for students in culinary arts, nutrition, dietetics, food science and technology, and gastronomy programs. It is intended for students with limited scientific background who are studying different aspects of food preparation and processing.
Food Frying by
A wide-ranging exploration of the science and practice of food frying Frying is one of the world's most popular methods of food preparation. Whether using oils or fats, it is valued for the particular flavors and textures it can bring, and represents a multibillion-dollar sector of the global economy. Food Frying: Chemistry, Biochemistry and Safety explores this important cooking technique in its scientific dimensions, charting the relationships between the chemical reactions produced during frying, the changes in food quality that these engender, and associated digestive and health-related issues. By outlining these connections, the author provides an aid to a safer, healthier approach to food frying. Topics covered range from culturally specific forms of frying to detailed analyses of the chemical and biochemical processes involved in its practice. Delivering these insights in a practical and easy-to-follow manner, this unique text includes: A complete survey of food frying, encompassing cultural, chemical, biochemical, and toxicological concerns Guidance on the accurate assessment of health, quality, and safety issues associated with food frying Coverage of the latest technologies and methods involved with frying Information on the possible future development of fried foods Food Frying: Chemistry, Biochemistry and Safety is an invaluable resource for all those who work with fried foods, whether they be food industry professionals, food scientists, or workers in the oil and fat industries.
African American Chemists by
Stories to incorporate in chemistry and science education This work highlights and celebrates the contributions African Americans in the chemical sciences have made, despite racial and gender barriers. Their contributions are often overlooked in media, textbooks, and, consequently, the classroom. By highlighting biographical narratives of African American chemists, this work serves as a tool to address diversity, equity, and inclusion in the classroom and beyond. Lessons plans accompany each chapter, enabling immediate incorporation of these stories into chemistry learning objectives. This work and these tools will help the next generation of chemists see diverse examples of success.
African American Women Chemists in the Modern Era by
This is the second of two books about African-American female chemists. The first book (African-American Women Chemists, 2011) focused on the early pioneers - women chemists from the Civil War to the Civil Rights Act. African American Women Chemists in the Modern Era focuses on contemporarywomen who have benefited from the Civil Rights Act and are now working as chemists or chemical engineers.This book was produced by taking the oral history of women who are leaders in their field and who wanted to tell the world how they suceeded. It features eighteen amazing women in this book and each of them has a claim to fame, despite hiding in plain sight. These women reveal the history of theirlives from youth to adult. Overall, Jeannette Brown aims to inspire women and minorities to pursue careers in the sciences, as evidenced by the successful career paths of the women that came before them.
The Ethical Chemist by
This book is an introduction to professional ethics in chemistry. After a brief overview of ethical theory, it provides a detailed discussion of professional ethic for chemists based on the view that the specific codes of conduct derive from a moral ideal. The moral ideal presented here hasthree parts. The first refers to the practice of science, the second to relationships within the scientific community and the third to the relationship between science and society, particularly the uses of science. The question of why a scientist should obey the professional code is discussed interms of the virtue of reverence, after which the ethical issues unique to chemistry are identified. A method for approaching ethical problems is presented. Finally, there is a large collection of specific ethical problems, or cases, each followed by a commentary where the issues raised by that caseare discussed.
The Last Sorcerers by
They started with four: earth, air, fire, and water. From these basics, they sought to understand the essential ingredients of the world. Those who could see further, those who understood that the four were just the beginning, were the last sorcerers " and the world (TM)s first chemists. What we now call chemistry began in the fiery cauldrons of mystics and sorcerers seeking not to make a better world through science, but rather to make themselves richer through magic formulas and con games. But among these early magicians, frauds, and con artists were a few far-seeing oealchemists who, through rigorous experimentation, transformed mysticism into science. By the 18th century the building blocks of nature, the elements of which all matter is composed, were on the verge of being discovery. Initially, it was not easy to determine whether a substance really was an element. Was water just water, plain and simple? Or could it be the sum of other (unknown and maybe unknowable) parts? And if water was made up of other substances, how could it be broken down into discreet, fundamental, and measurable components? Scientific historians generally credit the great 18th century French chemist Antoine Lavoisier with addressing these fundamental questions and ultimately modernizing the field of chemistry. Through his meticulous and precise work this chaotic new field of scientific inquiry was given order. Exacting by nature, Lavoisier painstakingly set about performing experiments that would provide lasting and verifiable proofs of various chemical theories. Unfortunately, the outspoken Lavoisier eventually lost his head in the Terror, but others would follow his lead, carefully examining, measuring, and recording their findings. As the field slowly progressed, another pioneer was to emerged almost 100 years later. Dimitri Mendeleev, an eccentric genius who cut his flowing hair and beard but once a year, sought to answer the most pressing questions that remained to chemists: Why did some elements have properties that resembled those of others? Were there certain natural groups of elements? And, if so, how many, and what elements fit into them? It was Mendeleev who finally addressed all these issues when he constructed the first Periodic Table in the late 1800s. But between and after Lavoisier and Mendeleev were a host of other colorful, brilliant scientists who made their mark on the field of chemistry. Depicting the lively careers of these scientists and their contributions while carefully deconstructing the history and the science, author Richard Morris skillfully brings it all to life. Hailed by Kirkus Reviews as a oeclear and lively writer with a penchant for down-to-earth examples Morris (TM)s gift for explanation " and pure entertainment " is abundantly obvious. Taking a cue from the great chemists themselves, Morris has brewed up a potent combination of the alluringly obscure and the historically momentous, spiked with just the right dose of quirky and ribald detail to deliver a magical brew of history, science, and personalities.
Women in Science by
Women have made a difference in every field imaginable, and they continue to do so today. Women's Lives in History introduces readers to dozens of these remarkable people. Women in Sciencefeatures groundbreaking figures in chemistry, biology, mathematics, medicine, and many other scientific fields. Compelling text and vivid photographs bring these women to life. Features include essential facts, a timeline, a glossary, additional resources, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
100 Chemical Myths by
100 Chemical Myths deals with popular yet largely untrue misconceptions and misunderstandings related to chemistry. It contains lucid and concise explanations cut through fallacies and urban legends that are universally relevant to a global audience. A wide range of chemical myths are explored in these areas; food, medicines, catastrophes, chemicals, and environmental problems. Connections to popular culture, literature, movies, and cultural history hold the reader's interest whilst key concepts are beautifully annotated with illustrations to facilitate the understanding of unfamiliar material. Chemical Myths Demystified is pitched to individuals without a formal chemistry background to fledgling undergraduate chemists to seasoned researchers and beyond.
The Chemical Age by
A dynamic and sweeping history that exposes how humankind's affinity for pesticides made the modern world possible--while also threatening its essential fabric. For thousands of years, we've found ways to scorch, scour, and sterilize our surroundings to make them safer. Sometimes these methods are wonderfully effective. Often, however, they come with catastrophic consequences--consequences that aren't typically understood for generations. The Chemical Age tells the captivating story of the scientists who waged war on famine and disease with chemistry. With depth and verve, Frank A. von Hippel explores humanity's uneasy coexistence with pests, and how their existence, and the battles to exterminate them, have shaped our modern world. Beginning with the potato blight tragedy of the 1840s, which led scientists on an urgent mission to prevent famine using pesticides, von Hippel traces the history of pesticide use to the 1960s, when Rachel Carson's Silent Spring revealed that those same chemicals were insidiously damaging our health and driving species toward extinction. Telling the story of these pesticides in vivid detail, von Hippel showcases the thrills and complex consequences of scientific discovery. He describes the invention of substances that could protect crops, the emergence of our understanding of the way diseases spread, the creation of chemicals used to kill pests and people, and, finally, how scientists turned those wartime chemicals on the landscape at a massive scale, prompting the vital environmental movement that continues today. The Chemical Age is a dynamic, sweeping history that exposes how humankind's affinity for pesticides made the modern world possible--while also threatening its essential fabric.
Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments by
For students, DIY hobbyists, and science buffs, who can no longer get real chemistry sets, this one-of-a-kind guide explains how to set up and use a home chemistry lab, with step-by-step instructions for conducting experiments in basic chemistry -- not just to make pretty colors and stinky smells, but to learn how to do real lab work: Purify alcohol by distillation Produce hydrogen and oxygen gas by electrolysis Smelt metallic copper from copper ore you make yourself Analyze the makeup of seawater, bone, and other common substances Synthesize oil of wintergreen from aspirin and rayon fiber from paper Perform forensics tests for fingerprints, blood, drugs, and poisons and much more From the 1930s through the 1970s, chemistry sets were among the most popular Christmas gifts, selling in the millions. But two decades ago, real chemistry sets began to disappear as manufacturers and retailers became concerned about liability. ,em>The Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments steps up to the plate with lessons on how to equip your home chemistry lab, master laboratory skills, and work safely in your lab. The bulk of this book consists of 17 hands-on chapters that include multiple laboratory sessions on the following topics: Separating Mixtures Solubility and Solutions Colligative Properties of Solutions Introduction to Chemical Reactions & Stoichiometry Reduction-Oxidation (Redox) Reactions Acid-Base Chemistry Chemical Kinetics Chemical Equilibrium and Le Chatelier's Principle Gas Chemistry Thermochemistry and Calorimetry Electrochemistry Photochemistry Colloids and Suspensions Qualitative Analysis Quantitative Analysis Synthesis of Useful Compounds Forensic Chemistry With plenty of full-color illustrations and photos, Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments offers introductory level sessions suitable for a middle school or first-year high school chemistry laboratory course, and more advanced sessions suitable for students who intend to take the College Board Advanced Placement (AP) Chemistry exam. A student who completes all of the laboratories in this book will have done the equivalent of two full years of high school chemistry lab work or a first-year college general chemistry laboratory course. This hands-on introduction to real chemistry -- using real equipment, real chemicals, and real quantitative experiments -- is ideal for the many thousands of young people and adults who want to experience the magic of chemistry.
Strange Chemistry by
This book opens the audience's eyes to the extraordinary scientific secrets hiding in everyday objects. Helping readers increase chemistry knowledge in a fun and entertaining way, the book is perfect as a supplementary textbook or gift to curious professionals and novices. * Appeals to a modern audience of science lovers by discussing multiple examples of chemistry in everyday life * Addresses compounds that affect everyone in one way or another: poisons, pharmaceuticals, foods, and illicit drugs; thereby evoking a powerful emotional response which increases interest in the topic at hand * Focuses on edgy types of stories that chemists generally tend to avoid so as not to paint chemistry in a bad light; however, these are the stories that people find interesting * Provides detailed and sophisticated stories that increase the reader's fundamental scientific knowledge * Discusses complex topics in an engaging and accessible manner, providing the "how" and "why" that takes readers deeper into the stories
Simply start from the Library website and click on the resource you want and you should be prompted for your credentials when it is needed.
You must log in with your eligible Rowan-Cabarrus network ID. Students use their Blackboard credentials. Faculty/Staff use their workstation network credentials. Forgot your Password?
