chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Jazz

Resources to enhance your study of music.

Archives, Articles, and Music

Univerisity of Chicago Library logo

The University of Chicago Library-  Maintained by the University of Chicago Library, this archive contains materials documenting the history of jazz in Chicago.

The Jazz Loft Project-  Maintained by the Center of Documentary Studies at Duke University, this project focuses an extensive collection of photograph and recordings of jazz musicians created by W. Eugene Smith, a celebrated photographer at Life Magazine.

npr music logo

NPR Music-  NPR's collection of Marian McPartland's interviews with prominent jazz musicians.

all about jazz logo

All About Jazz-  A site produced by jazz professionals and advocates that provides information and opinion about jazz throughout its history to today.

Hamilton jazz archive logo

The Hamilton Jazz Archive - A collection of videotaped interviews with jazz musicians, arrangers, writers and critics.

jazz corner logo

Jazz Corner-  A collection of official websites of jazz musicians and organizations.

Historic New Orleans Collection logo

The William Russell Jazz Collection, from the Historic New Orleans Collection, is a collection of archival documents that remark on the development of jazz.

The national museum of american history logo

The National Museum of American History’s Jazz Collections & Archives contains documents that preserve America’s diverse musical traditions.  

Duke University Libraries logo

The Jazz Archive at Duke University acquires, preserves, and makes available unique materials that document jazz's historical and ongoing significance.

Savory collection logo

The Savory Collection is a series of off the radio recordings of jazz musicians.

National jazz museum in harlem logo

Check out the audio and video archive of the National Jazz Museum in Harlem.

new york public library logo

The New Public Library's Louis Armstrong Jazz Oral History Project provides videos of some of the interviews conducted for the project. 

Ken Burns' Jazz, Part I

Education

Jazz Academy logo

Jazz Academy-  Home of the educational initiatives of Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Books About Jazz

Jazz Ebooks