Research Guides: Opioid Abuse: Issues and Finding Articles

Prescription Drug Abuse - SIRS Issues Researcher

Prescription Drug Abuse - SIRS Issues Researcher
Is more regulation and monitoring needed to prevent prescription drug abuse? Almost 1000 articles about opioid abuse and other issues in prescription drug abuse.

Opioid Addiction- CQ Researcher
Opioid abuse continues to devastate American communities, with more than 115 people dying each day after overdosing on oxycodone, fentanyl, heroin or another opioid.

Drug Abuse
Deaths due to opioid drug overdoses have increased nationwide, particularly in rural America and suburbia. Congress approved two bills in 2016 to fund anti-addiction programs, and state governments are working with federal authorities to address what they are calling a public health crisis of addiction to opioid painkillers and heroin.

CQ Magazine Search Results for Opioid Abuse
LIst of search results for Opioids in the CQ Researcher Magazine.

CQ Researcher A good database for hot topic papers! Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
InfoBase Polling the Nations Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
ProQuest Central This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
SIRS Issues Researcher Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
US Newsstream News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
Swank
Swank allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Kanopy is headquartered in San Francisco, California and has offices in Sydney, Australia.

Should pharmaceutical companies be held responsible for the opioid crisis?
Should the government regulate the amount of opioids that can be prescribed for patients?
What approach should health officials take to reduce opioid overdoses?
Should doctors who overprescribe painkillers be charged with murder if someone dies from an overdose?
Should the government spend healthcare money on providing more Naloxone/Narcan for overdose patients?
Should cities offer "safe spaces" for people to take drugs without risk of overdosing alone?

Email Me

Contact:

Instructional Librarian
South Campus, 8am-5pm
704-216-3544
laurie.robb@rccc.edu

Subjects: ACA-Academic Related, AHR-Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Technology, AUT-Automotive Systems Technology, COM-Communications, COS-Cosmetology, DRA-Drama, ENG-English, MSM-Motorsports Management Technology, PSY-Psychology