Ethics by
An encyclopedic work with more than 1,000 essays covering the full spectrum of ethics issues. Subjects of individual articles include persons, organizations, court cases, concepts, theories, human behavior, business practices, events, laws, political systems, and much more.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by
This best-selling dictionary is written by one of the most famous philosophers of our time, and it is widely recognized as the best dictionary of its kind. Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. With clear and concise definitions, itprovides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy. Entries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day. The first edition of this dictionary became a market-leader and a standard workof reference, selling over 100,000 copies. Now the author, Professor Simon Blackburn, has revised it to include web links which provide up-to-date and valuable extra information via the Dictionary of Philosophy companion website. Fully cross-referenced and containing over 3,000 alphabetical entries, it is the ideal introduction to philosophy for anyone with an interest in the subject, and it is an indispensable work of reference for students and teachers.
The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
The Shorter REP presents the very best of the acclaimed ten volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume. It makes a selection of the most important entries available for the first time and covers all you need to know about philosophy, from Aristotle to Wittgenstein and Animals and ethics to scientific method. Comprising over 900 entries and covering the major philosophers and philosophical topics, The Shorter REP includes the following special features: Over 130 comprehensive, in-depth entries as they appear in the ten volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Unrivalled coverage of major philosophers, themes, movements and periods making the volume indispensable for any student or general reader Revised versions of many of the most important entries, including fresh suggestions for further reading Over 20 brand new entries on important new topics Entries by many leading philosophers such as Bernard Williams, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Rorty, Onora O'Neill, T.M.Scanlon and Anthony Appiah
The purpose of this guide is to provide a variety of sources that can be used for the study of philosophy
