Research Guides: Political Science: Welcome

Ask a Librarian

Rowan-Cabarrus Student or Faculty? Need Help? Click the Chat Now Icon!

This service is only for Rowan-Cabarrus Community College faculty, staff, and students.

Library News

Welcome

Hello. Welcome to the Political Science research guide. This aggregation of resources is to aid you in Political Science coursework.

Some keywords found in political science include:

Comparative Politics, Democratization, polarization, politicization, development, geopolitics, globalization, institutional theory, international relations, security studies, nationalism, political economy, policy analysis, policy studies and public administration.

Online Sources

Foreign Policy Research Center

Pew Research Center

Brookings Institution

Periodicals

Political Science Journals

Databases

Political Science Database
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Continental Europe Database
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Criminal Justice Database
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
East and South Asia Database
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Infobase Modern World History
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Social Science Database
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
The Economist
Full articles from The Economist (1992 to present)
Wall Street Journal
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

Digital Services Librarian

Zach Housel

Email Me

Subjects: ACC-Accounting, BUS-Business Administration, CIS-Information Systems, CMT-Construction Management Technology, CTS-Computer Information Technology, DFT-Drafting, ECO-Economics, EGR-Engineering, ELN-Electronics, ISC-Industrial Science, NET-Networking Technology, SEC-Information Systems Security

AI in Library Databases

Exciting News: AI is Here to Enhance Your Library Experience!

We’re thrilled to announce the integration of AI-powered tools into our library databases! This means faster, smarter, and more intuitive research assistance at your fingertips. Whether you’re searching for scholarly articles, refining citations, or exploring new topics, AI can help streamline the process—so you spend less time sifting through information and more time making meaningful discoveries.

💡 What Can AI Do for You?

Smarter Searches: Get precise results tailored to your queries.
Effortless Summaries: Quickly understand key takeaways from articles.
Enhanced Citations: Improve accuracy with AI-assisted referencing.
Research Guidance: Receive topic suggestions and deeper insights.

AI isn’t replacing your expert librarians—it’s here to empower your learning and make knowledge more accessible than ever. Ready to explore the future of research? Try it out today!

ProQuest's AI-powered Research Assistant appears when a search is initiated from most of the databases within ProQuest Central. Read more about the AI Research Assistant on their blog and in this FAQ.
AI Insights from EBSCO provides clear summaries of full-text articles, highlighting 2-5 key points, which helps researchers quickly assess the relevance of the article to their research and make better use of their time. It is available in most Ebsco databases. Read more about it here.