Research Guides: Raisin in the Sun: Themes

Themes

themes for raisin in the sun This page covers resources to help you study the themes in A Raisin in the Sun. Use the databases to find more resources about your topics.

Suggested databases are in the boxes before. Use these databases for further information.

African-American Experience Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African...
Literature Resource Center
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Films on Demand
Use this database for documentary-type films or snippets of films.

Films on Demand and Civil Rights Movement in Chicago

ProQuest Central
Use this database for articles and ebooks.
Infobase American History
American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Daily Life through History
An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.

Great Migration

Infobase American History

Link to information about Great Migration from Infobase American History
Use this link to find resources from Infobase American History about the Great Migration.

The Great Migration from the African-American Experience

Chicago's New Negroes by Davarian L. Baldwin
ISBN: 9780807830994
Publication Date: 2007-04-02
As early-twentieth-century Chicago swelled with an influx of at least 250,000 new black urban migrants, the city became a center of consumer capitalism, flourishing with professional sports, beauty shops, film production companies, recording studios, and other black cultural and communal institutions.

Civil rights movement in Chicago, voting, housing, employment, education, segregation, backlash/violence

Infobase American History

African Americans in the Civil Rights Era from Infobase American History

Films on Demand
Use the search bar in Films on Demand to find specific topics about Civil Rights.

Housing and Race in Chicago
From the Chicago Public Library's information about Lorraine Hansberry.
Restructuring Chicago Demographics
Short FILM segment from Eyes on the Prize

A New Deal for Bronzeville by Lionel Kimble
ISBN: 9780809334261
Publication Date: 2015-09-03
During the Great Migration of the 1920s and 1930s, southern African Americans flocked to the South Side Chicago community of Bronzeville, the cultural, political, social, and economic hub of African American life in the city, if not the Midwest.

Right to Vote (from 1958)
This is an archived report from 1958 about issues related to the African-American vote PRE-1965 Civil Rights Act.
Race Segregation (1952)
CQ Report about Race Segregation in the South and North of the US.
School Desegregation (1955)
Report from 1955 about the state of the schools in the US.
The African-American Experience and the Fight Against Segregation 1950-1956

Decolonization of Nigeria/Nigerian Independence

Nigerian Migration
Reference article from African-American Experience.
Nigeria, post-independence
Article from Modern World History database.
Nigeria during the colonial era
Article from Modern World History
A History of Nigeria - Independence
Chapter from ebook

Encyclopedia of Colonial Africa (1850 To 1960) by Willie F. Page (Editor); R. Hunt Davis (Revised by)
ISBN: 9781438163420
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Encyclopedia of Colonial Africa (1850 to 1960) covers the colonial era from the French invasion and control over Algeria through the full-scale colonial conquest of Africa.
African Independence by Tukufu Zuberi
ISBN: 9781442216419
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
African Independence highlights the important role Africa has played in recent history and the significant role it will continue to play in the future of America and the globe.

Feminism

Feminism and African-American Women
Article from Infobase American History database.
Family and Daily Life in Postwar America from Infobase American History
Article from Infobase American History.

CQ Researcher
Few good articles about women and feminism.

Article about Equal Rights from 1946.
Article from 1946 about Equal Right which gives the reader an idea of how women's rights were viewed in the time right before A Raisin in the Sun was set.
1950's Family Profile from Infobase American History
"1950 Family Profile." Working Americans Vol. 1: The Working Class, 2nd Edition, edited by Scott Derks, Salem Press, 2016. Salem Online, online.salempress.com/articleDetails.do?articleId=403412.
The Changing Role of Women
Article from Infobase American History

"The Sexes." Films Media Group, 1999. Films On Demand, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=99147&xtid=10337. Accessed 1 Oct. 2023.

Atomic Age/Post War Era

Family and Daily Life in Postwar America from Infobase American History
Article from Infobase American History.

Postwar United States by Allan M. Winkler; Charlene Mires (Editor); Gary B. Nash (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438170428
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Great source for everything post-war.

Work in the United States, 1940-59
Article from Daily Life
The African-American Experience and Post-War America

Postwar America by Golson Books
ISBN: 9780816071814
Publication Date: 2009-08-30
The period following World War II was marked by great social change as a result of the civil rights movement, the feminist movement, the Cold War, and the youth opposition to the Vietnam War.

Cold War

Infobase Modern World History
Great source for articles, primary sources, and ebooks.

Cold War Propaganda
Video segment from Films on Demand.
Cold War Propaganda
Written in 1958, this report gives info about the Cold War and its use of propaganda.
Origins of the Cold War
Article from Historical Controversies in Diplomacy and Foreign Relations, written in 2012.
Cold War Map and information from Modern World History

Raisin in the Sun: Themes