New APA7 Highlights
From the American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000
| Then | Now |
|---|---|
|
Header included Running Head: TITLE page# |
Header includes only the page number, aligned to the right |
|
Title page included Title Author's Name College Name |
Title page includes Title
Author's Name Department, College Name Class abbrev and number: Class name Instructor Date Submitted |
|
References included the words "Retrieved from" before the URL World Health Organization. (2018, March). Questions and answers on immunizations. Retrieved from https://who.int.features.qu/84/en |
"Retrieved from" has been removed from references. World Health Organization. (2018, March). Questions and answers on immunizations. https://who.int.features.qu/84/en |
|
In references, DOIs weren't preferred and weren't formatted as links. doi.10.1126.science.aay3550 |
DOIs are preferred and formatted as URLs. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aay3550 |
|
Publisher location was included on references. Sapolsky, R. M. (2017). Behave: The biology of humans at our best and worst. New York: Penguin Books. |
Publisher location is removed from reference Sapolsky, R. M. (2017). Behave: The biology of humans at our best and worst. Penguin Books. |
| Surnames and initials were used for up to 7 authors in reference list. | Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors in reference list. |
|
First in-text citation included up to 5 authors. (Taylor, Smith, Barbee, Johnson, & Mason, 2018) |
In-text citation for source with three or more authors is et al from first citation on (Taylor et al., 2018) |
|
Non-binary "they" wasn't endorsed. Writers used "he or she". A researcher's career depends on how often he or she is cited. |
Singular non-binary "they" and "their's" is endorsed. A researcher's career depends on how often they are cited. |
|
Articles from news websites were formatted like other webpages. Domonoske, C. (2016, November 23). Students have 'dismaying' inability to tell fake news from real. NPR.org. Retrieved from http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo- way/2016/11/23/503129818/ |
More guidance for formatting webpages on news websites references. Domonoske, C. (2016, November 23). Students have 'dismaying' inability to tell fake news from real. NPR. http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo- way/2016/11/23/503129818/ |
| Few guidelines for social media |
More guidance for formatting social media references, including Tweets, Facebook, comments on posts APA Education [@APAEducation]. (2018, June 29). College students are forming mental-health clubs - and they're making a difference @washingtonpost [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/apaeducation/status/1012810490530140161
|
*APA7 allows for fonts other than Times New Roman 12 but Rowan-Cabarrus' English and ACA Department has chosen to continue to accept only Times New Roman 12. Other departments at Rowan-Cabarrus may choose to use other fonts including 11-point Calibri, 11-point Arial, or 10-point Lucida Sans Unicode. Other options are 11-point Georgia or 10-point Computer Modern. (APA Publication Manual, 2019, p. 44).
** APA7 encourages hyperlinks that are underlined, in blue, or both, especially for materials that are meant to be read online (p. 299-300).
Rowan-C
abarrus uses the newest version of APA (APA7) which was released in October 2019. Make sure that you are using formatting and citation style for the 7th Edition of APA.
A few things about APA formatting
Fonts
Spacing
Headings
Abstracts
APA Versions
Authors/ Publishers
DOIs vs URLs
If a book, journal, report or other publication has a DOI, it must be included in the reference.
According to Purdue Owl's page titled DOIs vs. URLs, APA allows for the use of either the modern alphanumeric string format ("doi:0000000/000000000000") or the older doi.org format ("https://doi.org/10.0000/0000"). Use whichever is provided by the source.
All hyperlinks retain the https://
Reference
OpenAI. (2023). Gun violence in North Carolina (June 5 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat
The in-text citation would be
(OpenAI, 2023).
*OpenAI is the author of the ChatGPT model.
Klymkowsky, M. (2018, September 15). Can we talk scientifically about free will? Sci-Ed. https://blogs.plos.org/scied/2018/09/15/can-we-talk-scientifically-about-free-will/
(Klymbkowsky, 2018) is the in-text citation
For direct quotes, see the information below for quoting items without page numbers.
Gleick, J. (1987). Chaos: Making a new science. Penguin.
(Gleick, 1987) is the in-text citation
An ebook would have the URL at the end of the citation.
Klaas, B. (2024). Fluke : Chance, chaos, and why everything we do matters. Scribner. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/rowancabarrus/detail.action?docID=30676412
Gale, P., & Lerner, N. (2000). The Bacon guide to peer tutoring. Allyn & Bacon.
(Gale & Lerner, 2000) is the in-text citation
Clarke, A. (2019). Harper's practical genetic counselling, eighth edition. Taylor & Francis Group. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/rowancabarrus/detail.action?docID=5906192#
UNCG. (2021). Information for potential UNCG students [Brochure].
In-text is (UNCG, 2021)
If an online brochure you must add the URL (www.website.....) to the end
UNCG. (n.d.) Visitor brochure [Brochure]. URL
Include title and [Brochure] in the title. This brochure has no date. Do not use the webpage's copyright date.
In-text is (UNCG, n.d.)
Harris, M. (2000). Talk to me: Engaging reluctant writers. In B. Raforth (Ed.), A tutor's guide: Helping writers (pp. 24-34). Heinemann.
Here's how it looks for an ebook
Melson, G. & Fine, A. (2019). Animals in the lives of children. In A. Fine (Ed.), Handbook on animal-assisted therapy : Theoretical foundations and guidelines for practice (pp. 223-245). Elsevier Science and Technology. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/rowancabarrus/reader.action?docID=629941&ppg=259
(Harris, 2000) is the in-text citation
Beaton, K. (2016). King baby (K. Beaton, Illus.). Arthur A. Levine Books.
(Beaton, 2016)
Crimi, C. (2019). Weird little robots (C. Luyken, Illus.). Candlewick Press.
(Crimi, 2019)
O’Connor, J. (2017). Nancy Clancy, late-breaking news! (R. Preiss Glasser, Illus.). HarperCollins Publishers.
Dickinson, E. (1950). Because I could not stop for death. In F.O. Matthiessen (Ed.), The Oxford Book of American Verse (p. 439). Oxford.
In-text citation would be (Dickinson, 1950)
Johnson, L. (2020). Course syllabus English 112. Rowan-Cabarrus Community College. URL.
Or
Bittle, J. (2023). English 112 [Syllabus]. Rowan-Cabarrus Community College. URL
In-text Citation (Johnson, 2020) or (Bittle, 2023)
*The URL is the www.rccc.edu/blackboard....... webpage address.
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954). https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/347/483/
Parenthetical: (Brown v. Board of Education, 1954)
Narrative: Brown v. Board of Education (1954)
From page 359 of APA Manual 7th Edition.
US Supreme Court case, with a page number (through 2012 Supreme Court term)
U.S. is short for United States Reports.
Published in Volume 347 on page 483 in the year 1954.
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi/books.9780890424496
(American Psychiatric Association, 2013)- In-text Citation
For a source with an editor.
Venes, D. (Ed.). (2021). Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary (24th ed.). F. A. Davis Company.
If there's a URL, then add it after the publisher.
Intext is (Venes, 2021)
______________________________
If you are referring only to an article in a reference book that has a different author, then do this.
Graham, G. (2019). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/entries/behaviorism/
Intext is (Graham, 2019) or (Graham, 2019, p. 81) for a direct quote.
___________________________
If you are looking at an entry in a dictionary or encyclopedia that has a group author, then do this.
American Psychology Association. (n.d.) Positive transference. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved August 31, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/positive-transference
*Note: There is an (n.d.) in the publishing date because this source is online and consistently updated. Therefore a retrieval date is preferred so your instructor can tell when you read the information.
Intext is (American Psychology Association, n.d.)
____________________________
Paulson, J. A. (2016). Neuropsychological functioning and inflammation in past and current PTSD (Order No. 3706233) [Doctoral dissertation, Alliant International University]. ProQuest Central. http://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/dissertations-theses/neuropsychological-functioning-inflammation-past/docview/1694579970/se-2?accountid=13601
Intext citation will be
(Paulson, 2016)
Cuellar, N. G. (2016). Study abroad programs [Editorial]. Journal of Transcultural Nursing, 27(3), 209. https://doi.org/10.1177/1043659616638722
(Cuellar, 2016) In-text Citation
National Institute of Mental Health. (2018, November 28). Suicide affects all ages, genders, races, and ethnicities. Check out these 5 action steps for helping someone in emotional pain [Infographic]. Facebook. https://bit.ly/321 Qstq
(National Institute of Mental Health, 2018) In-text Citation
Smithsonian's National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute. (n.d.). Home [Facebook page]. Facebook. Retrieved July 22, 2019, from https://www.facebook.com/nationalzoo
(Smithsonian's National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute, n.d.) In-text Citation
Oncological nurses. (n.d.). Ferguson's Career Guidance Center. Retrieved November 16, 2023 from https://fcg.infobase.com/recordurl/1302021?aid=99147
In-text (Oncological nurses, n.d.)
Cambridge Educational. (2018). Animal trainer-career Q&A: Professional advice and insight. Ferguson's Career Guidance. https://fcg-infobase-com.proxy154.nclive.org/video/151048
Forman, M. (Director). (1975). One flew over the cuckoo's nest [Film]. United Artists.
(Forman, 1975) In-text Citation
Goya, F. (1800). The family of Charles IV. Museo National del Prado. https://www.netmuseum.org/ /hd_goya
Office of Women's Health. (2019, March 14). Breastfeeding. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. https://www.womenshealth.gov/breastfeeding
In-text Citation is (Office of Women's Health, 2019).
*If author and publisher are the same, you do not need to repeat name after the title of webpage. This reference/citation shows Office of Women's Health as the group author and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as the publisher.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2018, January 23). People at high risk of developing flu-related complications. https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/disease/high_risk.htm
Intext is (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2018)
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2018)
If you want to abbreviate you must connect the entire name of organization with the abbreviation on the first intext and then abbreviate after that.
First instance is: (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDD], 2018). Next intext would be (CDC, 2018)
First instance is: According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC, 2018). Next instance, (CDC, 2018).
Zeitz MOCAA [@zeitzmocaa]. (2018, November 26). Grade 6 learners from Parkfields Primary School in Hanover Park visited the museum for a a tour and workshop hosted by [Photographs]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/BqpHpjFBs3b/
(Zeitz MOCAA, 2018) In-text Citation
The New York Public Library [@nypl]. 9n.d.) The raven [Highlight]. Instagram. Retrieved April 16, 2019, from https://bitly.com/2FV8bu3
(The New York Public Library, n.d.) In-text Citation
Interviews or other personal communication (emails, letters, phone calls or messages that aren't able to be recovered or found) are NOT included in the reference list.
These personal communications are in-text cited as
(E. Robbins, personal communication, September 29, 2020)
Bowie, D. (2016). Blackstar [Album]. Columbia.
(Bowie, 2016) In-text Citation
Childish Gambino. (2018). This is America [Song]. mcDJ; RCA.
(Childish Gambino, 2018) In-text Citation
Magryta, C. (2015, August 30). Top ten reasons to breastfeed your infant. The Salisbury Post. https://www.salisburypost.com/2015/08/30/8-30-15-lifestyle-dr-magryta-column/
National Aeronautics and Space Administration [nasa]. (2018, September 12). I'm NASA astronaut Scott Tingle. [Online forum post]. Reddit. https://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/9fagqy/im_nasa_astronaut_scott_tingle_ask_me_anything/
(National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 2018) In-text Citation
Nemko, M. (2020, February 6). The three principles of good parenting. Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/how-do-life/202002/the-three-principles-good-parenting
(Nemko, 2020) In-text Citation
McCurry, S. (1985). Afghan girl [Photograph]. National Geographic. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/national-geographic-magazine-50-years-of-covers/#/ngm-1985-jun-714.jpg
(McCurry, 1985) In-text Citation
Vedantam, S. (Host). (2015-present). Hidden brain [Audio podcast]. NPR. https://www.npr.org/series/423302056/hidden-brain
(Vendantam, 2015-present) In-text Citation
Glass, I. (Host). (2011, August 12). Amusement park (No. 443) [Audio podcast episode]. In This American life. WBEZ Chicago. https://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/443/amusement-park
(Glass, 2011) In-text Citation
Here is for a Powerpoint or slideshow with an instructor's name.
Dasher, R. (2024). Module 6 - adulthood [Powerpoint slides]. Psychology Department, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College. https://rccc.blackboard.com
(Dasher, 2024). In-text Citation
King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/ (Original work published 1769)
(King James Bible, 1769/2017) In-text Citation
de Beauvoir, S., (1960, May 4). Simone de Beauvoir discusses the art of writing [Interview]. Studs Terkel Radio Archive; The Chicago History Museum. https://studsterkel.wfmt.com/programs/simone-de-beauvoir-discusses-art-writing
(de Beauvoir, 1960) In-text Citation
Brewer, T. (2002). Test-taking anxiety among nursing & general college students. Journal of Psychosocial Nursing, 40(11), 22-29. https://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/220140572?accountid=13601
(Brewer, 2002) In-text Citation
or
According to Brewer (2002),
Burin, D., Kilteni, K., Rabuffetti, M., Slater, M., & Pia, L. (2019). Body ownership increases the interference between observed and executed movements. PLOS ONE, 14(1), Article e0209899. http://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0209899
Intext citation (Burin et al., 2019)
Narrative citation Burin et al. (2019)
Direct quote (Burin et al., 2019, Introduction)
McCauley, S. M., & Christiansen, M. H. (2019). Language learning as language use: A cross-linguistic model of child language development. Psychological Review, 126(1), 1-51. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126
(McCauley & Christiansen, 2019) In-text Citation
For more information about DOIs, see the section in the box on this page about APA Citation Guides and Templates.
Pauwels, S., Symons, L., Eva-Lynn Vanautgaerden, Ghosh, M., Duca, R. C., Bekaert, B., Freson, K., Huybrechts, I., Langie, S., Koppen, G., Devlieger, R., & Godderis, L. (2019). The influence of the duration of breastfeeding on the infant’s metabolic epigenome. Nutrients, 11(6), 1408. https://dx.doi.org/10.3390/nu11061408
(Pauwels et al., 2019) for in-text citation when authors' names are not mentioned in sentence (Parenthetical citation)
Pauwels et al. (2019) when author is mentioned in the text (Narrative citation)
APA7 requires that you list up to 20 authors in the reference list
King, M. L., Jr. (1963, August 28). I have a dream [Speech audio recording]. American Rhetoric. https://americarhetoric.com/speeches/mlkihaveadream.htm
npatou. (2016, June 6). Malcolm X's legendary speech: "The bullet or the ballot" [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zLQLUpNGsc
Giertz, S. (2018, April). Why you should make useless things [Video]. TED Conferences. https://www.ted.com/why_you_should_make_useless_things
In-text Citation Format:
Berger, K. S. (2022). Invitation to the lifespan (5th ed). Worth Publishers.
Intext is (Berger, 2022).
Losco, J. & Baker, R. (2018). Am gov 2017-2018. McGraw-Hill Education.
In-text citation (Losco & Baker, 2018)
Betts, G., Young, K. A., Wise, J. A., Johnson, E., Poe, B., Kruse, D. H., Korol, O., Johnson, J. E., Womble, M., & DeSaix, P. (Eds.). (2022, September 19). Anatomy and physiology 2e. OpenStax. https://openstax.org/details/books/anatomy-and-physiology-2e
Intext
(Betts et al, 2022)
*You can list up to 20 authors or editors in an APA citation.
Barris, K. (Writer & Director). (2017, January 11). Lemons (Season 3, Episode 12) [TV series episode]. In K. Barris, J. Groff, A. Anderson, E. B. Dobbins, L. Fishburne, & H. Sugland (Executive producers), Black-ish. Wilmore Films; Artists First; Cinema Gypsy Productions; ABC Studios.
(Barris, 2017) In-text Citation
Simon, D., Colesberry, R. F., & Kostroff Noble, N. (Executive Producers). (2002-2008). The wire [TV series]. Blown Deadline Productions; HBO.
(Simon et al., 2002-2008) In-text Citation
Badlands National Park [@BadlandsNPS]. (2018, February 26). Biologists have identified more than 400 different plant species growing in @BadlandsNPS #DYK #biodiversity [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/BadlandsNPS/status/968196500412133379
(Badlands National Park, 2018) In-text Citation
APA Style [@APA_Style]. (n.d.). Tweets [Twitter profile]. Twitter. Retrieved November 1, 2019, from https://twitter.com/APA_Style
(APA Style, n.d.) In-text Citation
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College. (n.d.). Student wellness center. https://www.rccc.edu/wellness/.
In-text is (Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, n.d.)
If the information changes frequently or regularly, a retrieval date is recommended.
U.S. Census Bureau. (n.d.). U.S. and world population clock. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved June 4, 2020, from https://www.census.gov/popclock/
In-text Citation is (U.S. Census Bureau, n.d.)
Miller, C. (n.d.). Does social media cause depression? Child Mind Institute. https://childmind.org/article/is-social-media-use-causing-depression/
In-text Citation is (Miller, n.d.)
or According to Miller (n.d.),
Avramova, N. (2019, January 3). The secret to a long, happy life? Think age-positive. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2019/01/03/22/health/memory-forgetting-psychology.html
In-text citation is
(Avramova, 2019)
Livio, M. (2020, May 19). When Galileo stood trial for defending science. A&E Television Networks. https://www.history.com/news/galileo-copernicus-earth-sun-heresy-church
In-text citation would be (Livio, 2020)
Registered nurses. (n.d.). NCCareers. Retrieved June 27, 2024, from https://nccareers.org/occupation-profile/291141/1284.
("Registered Nurses", n.d.)
The title of the article or page goes in quotes in the in-text citation. It is also in title case (important words capitalized) in the in-text citation.
Title of the article or page is in sentence case in reference and in title case in in-text citation.
World Health Organization. (2018, March). Questions and answers on immunizations and vaccine safety. https://who.int.features.qu/84/en
(World Health Organization, 2018) is the in-text.
(World Health Organization [WHO], 2018) if you want to abbreviate in subsequent in-text citations. The whole name must be written out and the abbreviation indicated in the first in-text reference.
Boston Tea Party. (2019, December 12). A&E Television Networks. https://www.history.com/topics/american-revolution/boston-tea-party
("Boston Tea Party", 2019) In-text Citation
*Italicize title if italicized in reference list. (APA, 2020, p. 265).
Registered nurses. (n.d.). NCCareers. Retrieved June 27, 2024, from https://nccareers.org/occupation-profile/291141/1284.
("Registered Nurses", n.d.)
Title of the article or page goes in quotes in the in-text citation. It is also in title case in the citation.
Title of the article or page is in sentence case in reference and in title case in in-text citation.
American Psychological Association. (2020, November 17). Psychologists report large increase in demand for anxiety, depression treatment [Press release]. https://www.apa.org/news/press/releases/2020/11/anxiety-depression-treatment
Intext citation (American Psychological Association, 2020)
University of Oxford. (2018, December 6). How do geckos walk on water? [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qm1xGfOZJc8
In-text Citation- (University of Oxford, 2018)