chat loading...
Skip to main content

ENG 112 - Writing/Research in the Disc: MLA Citation Help

This course, the second in a series of two, introduces research techniques, documentation styles, and writing strategies. Emphasis is placed on analyzing information and ideas and incorporating research findings into documented writing and research projec

Citing Different Sources in MLA

"Ideology." The American Heritage Dictionary. 3rd ed., 1997, pp 44-45.

To cite this source, page 44, for example: ("Ideology" 44)

Choi, Susan. Trust Exercise. Holt, 2019.

To cite entire book: (Choi)

To cite page 25, for example: (Choi 25)

Gillespie, Paula, and Neal Lerner. The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Peer Tutoring. Allyn and Bacon, 2000. 

If citing the entire book (Gillespie and Lerner)

If citing pages 210-225 (Gillespie and Lerner 210-225)

Wysocki, Anne Frances, et al. Writing New Media: Theory and Applications for Expanding the Teaching of Composition. Utah State UP, 2004.

If citing page 167, for example: (Wysocki et al. 167)

Crowley, Sharon, and Debra Hawhee. Ancient Rhetorics for Contemporary Students. 3rd ed., Pearson, 2004.

If citing entire book: (Crowley and Hawhee)

If citing page 202, for example (Crowley and Hawkee 202)

Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, Henemann, 2000, pp. 24-34.

If citing page 34 for example: (Muriel 34)

 

Blade Runner. 1982. Directed by Ridley Scott, performance by Harrison Ford, director's cut, Warner Bros., 1992.

Scott, Ridley, director. Blade Runner. 1982. Performance by Harrison Ford, director's cut, Warner Bros., 1992.

 

For films, citations begin with the title unless you want to highlight some other aspect, such as the direction. In the first example, Ridley Scott and Harrison Ford are considered "Other contributors". The second example treats Ridley Scott as an "author" with Harrison Ford as another contributor. The Publisher is Warner Bros.

 

Doest, Jasper. "Japanese macaques take a hot bath during winter in Jigokudani." National Geographic, 15 Sept. 2016, nationalgeographic.com/photography/proof/2016/09/snow-macaque-nice-shot. Accessed 17 Mar 2020.

‚ÄčZumla, Alimuddin, et al. "Vaccine Against Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus." The Lancet Infectious Diseases, vol. 19, no. 10, 2019, pp. 1054-1055. ProQuest, http://proxy154.nclive.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/2297096029?accountid=13601, doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S1473-3099(19)30477-3.

 

To cite this article, page 1054, for example: (Zumla et al. 1054)

Tavernise, Sabrina. "Disparity of Life Spans of the Rich and the Poor is Growing." The New York Times, 12 Feb. 2016, https://www.nytimes.com/2016/02/13/health/disparity-in-life-spans-of-the-rich-and-the-poor-is-growing.html

(Tavernise)

Note that the URL is linked. This is an option in MLA 8th Edition. Your teacher may choose to allow this or not.

"Athlete's Foot - Topic Overview." WebMD, 25 Sept. 2014, www.webmd.com/skin-problems-and-treatments/tc/athletes-foot-topic-overview.

("Athlete's")

September 25, 2014 is the publication date. There are no page numbers

Lundman, Susan. "How to Make Vegetarian Chili." eHow, www.ehow.com/how_10727_make-vegetarian-chili.html.

To cite the webpage (Lundman)

There are no page numbers. Access date is optional but recommended if the webpage is one that updates regularly.

Loading ...

MLA Online Sources

MLA 8th edition: Online Sources

Citations for electronic resources are, by and large, the same as for their print equivalents except that online materials are more likely to have multiple containers. Note that when it comes to online materials, the "Date of Access" element is optional.

Website

MLA Online Website

Webpage or Blog Post

MLA Online Webpage or Blog Post

Full-text Article, Retrieved from an Online Database

MLA Online Full-text Article from an Online Database

Article from an Online Scholarly Journal

MLA Online Article from a Scholarly Journal

Chapter in an eBook

Chapter in an eBook

Course Home Page

MLA Online Course Home Page

 

Article from a News Website

MLA Online Article from a News Website

Newspaper Article without an Author, Retrieved from an Online Database

 

MLA Online Newspaper Article without an Author, Retrieved from an Online Database

Image from Website

MLA Online Image from Website

Images from an Image/Photo Database

MLA Online Images an Image/Photo Database

Film

A film citation usually starts with the "Title of Source." "Original Publication Date" is an optional element. You may also list any other persons relevant to your paper or that will help with identification of the film, including screenwriters, actors, producers, etc in the "Other Contributors" element. Finally, the film's distributor goes in the "Publisher" element.

MLA Online Motion Picture

If you want to focus on some aspect of the film, like the direction, you can put that individual in the "Author" element.

MLA Online Motion Picture Director Emphasis

Episodes of a Television Show

MLA Online Episode of Television Show

This is how you would cite an episode viewed on a streaming service.

MLA Online Streaming TV Episode

YouTube Video

MLA Online YouTube Video with Known Author

If you do not have a name for the author or creator of the content, you simply put the name of the uploader in the "Other Contributor" location.

MLA Online YouTube Video

 

Font and Alignment

screenshot of home tab with font and size highlighted

 

Alignment

Text left aligned

screenshot of center alignment button

Hanging Indents

This is how to format a hanging indent in Google Docs.

Screen shot of hanging indents in Google docs

This is one way to format a hanging indent in Word.

Screen shot of tabs in Word

Here's another way to format a hanging indent in Word.

Screenshot of formatting paragraph in word

Loading ...

Personal Interview MLA Style

References for personal interview in MLA style follow this format:

     Last, first name of interviewed. Personal interview. Date of interview.

     Smith, Jane. Personal interview. 19 May 2014.

Intext citations follow this format:

     (Last name)

     (Smith)