Find eBooks - ENG 112 - Writing/Research in the Disc - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

eBook Collections

eBooks

Some of our eBook collections will allow you to check out an eBook for use on your mobile device (such as a Kindle) while others will allow online viewing only.

ABC-CLIO E-book Collection History & literature e-books, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Credo Reference A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
eBook Central Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
HomeGrown eBooks A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Infobase eBooks
eBooks covering Literature and the Humanities.
Open Library A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
Overdrive Downloadable popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for your reading and listening pleasure.
Poetry for Students
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
R2 Digital Library The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press eBooks Collection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.

Instructions for Downloading eBooks:

Salem Press ebooks for Literature - Critical Approaches

Critical Approaches to Literature - Feminist by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus Circulating books PN 56 .F46 C75 2018
ISBN: 9781682175774
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Moral by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, PN 49 .C75 2017, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus
ISBN: 9781682172742
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Multicultural by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, PN 56 .M8 C75 2017, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus
ISBN: 9781682175750
Publication Date: 2017-07-21
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship.
Critical Approaches to Literature - Psychological by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, PN 56 .C75 2017, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus
ISBN: 9781682172728
Publication Date: 2017-03-27
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship.

Ask-A-Librarian

Rowan-Cabarrus Student or Faculty? Need Help? Click the Chat Now Icon!

This service is only for Rowan-Cabarrus Community College faculty, staff, and students.

Tutoring

Get free and helpful tutoring at North Campus, South Campus or Online. Contact the Tutoring center to make an appointment!

Prefer Audio?

You can also take advantage of NC LIVE's audiobook collection through OneClickdigital!

E-Books

Better Writing by Travis J. Koll Using casual language and a straightforward approach, Better Writing: Beyond Periods and Commas provides students with an easy-to-read and effective guide for developing their writing skills. Rather than intimidate and overwhelm novice writers with vast sets of rules, Travis Koll utilizes simple and relatable explanations and examples to demystify the writing process. Armed with this better understanding, one that reaches far beyond the mere mechanics of punctuation and grammar, students can begin to recognize the true nature and significance of writing, its potential impact on their readers, and the importance of their voices in their communities and the world.
ISBN: 9781610485883
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Schaum's Quick Guide to Writing Great Essays by Molly McClain; Jacqueline D. Roth The Fastest, Easiest Way to Learn: Schaum's Quick Guides These concise, quick reference guides are perfect for business people, writers, and students at all levels. Written by top experts, they offer readers the easiest, most efficient strategies to master or learn a new skill. All Schaum's Quick Guides include do's and don'ts for avoiding common errors, handy checklists, and practice exercises for building skills quickly.
ISBN: 9780070471702
Publication Date: 1998-09-21
Poetry for Students by Gale Cengage Learning (Editor)
ISBN: 9781410328472
Publication Date: 2017-01-24

Salem Press ebooks for Literature - Critical Surveys

Critical Survey of Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature by Paul Di Filippo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682172780
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
The new edition of Critical Survey of Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature, previously published as Magill's Survey of Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature and Classics of Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature, provides descriptions of hundreds of famous and well-regarded works of science fiction and fantasy, summarizing plots and analyzing the works in terms of their contributions to literature.
Critical Survey of Young Adult Literature by Salem Press Editors; Amy Pattee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781619259713
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Critical Survey of Young Adult Literature aims to discuss the most representative young adult works that forms today's canon for academic coursework and library collection development, with over 300 essays of clear, concise, and accessible analysis. This collection includes classic young adult titles like The Outsiders, popular series like Divergent, plus a variety of significant themes, film adaptations, and other sections important to the popular young adult category.

Salem Press ebooks for Literature - Critical Insights: Themes

Critical Insights: Civil Rights Literature by Christopher A. Varlack (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682172681
Publication Date: 2017-02-22
American civil rights literature has largely been associated with speeches, letters, and non-fiction works produced by African-American activists of the 1950s and 60s such as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Malcolm X.
Critical Insights: Historical Fiction by Salem Press Editors; Virginia Brackett (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682177105
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
This volume encourages readers to engage with plots based on historical events and characters in several ways. They may re-imagine history in cases where it is reconstructed; become better acquainted with history as it is personalized through specific characters; and, perhaps most importantly, even question history.
Critical Insights: Holocaust Literature by Dorian Stuber (Editor)
ISBN: 9781619255272
Publication Date: 2016-10-27
From 1941 to 1945, the regime of Nazi Germany committed mass genocide against six million Jewish people in Europe, as well as five million Gypsies, homosexuals, disabled citizens, communists, and more.
Critical Insights: The Immigrant Experience by Salem Press Editors; Maryse Jayasuriya (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682176924
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
This collection focuses on the variety of immigrant experiences that have been depicted in literary works and the techniques that immigrant writers have used in fiction and non-fiction.
Critical Insights: Paranoia, Alienations and Fear by Kimberly Drake (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682171264
Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Fear, paranoia, and alienation are terms that pull in different directions, but they also overlap in key ways, most having to do with the idea that the mind's apprehension of danger, whether that apprehension is accurate or not, can lead to expected emotions.
Critical Insights: Rebellion by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Robert C. Evans (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682175576
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
This volume will explore the history, themes, styles, and forms of Rebellion in literature. It will focus on defining works, especially from British and American writers such as Melville, Dickinson, Shelley, and Amis. Authors represented will be diverse in gender and ethnicity as well as in their economic, spiritual, and political orientations.
Critical Insights: Social Justice and American Literature by Salem Press Editors; Jeff Birkenstein (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682175651
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Social Justice and American Literature will examine the work of Richard Wright, Amy Lowell, Philip Roth, Kate Chopin and James Baldwin among others. Themes that will be dealt with are: gender and feminism; gay writers; Native American, Asian American, and Hispanic/Border writers; Appalachian and socio-economic justice.
Critical Insights: Southwestern Literature by William Brandon (Editor)
ISBN: 9781619258426
Publication Date: 2016-01-20
Novels of the American Southwest most often deal with battles between man and the desert landscape, quests of Manifest Destiny, tales of the Old West, and cross-cultural conflicts between white American settlers and Native American tribes, including the Navajo and Apache. This volume explores these and many other themes, found in the works of such authors as Willa Cather, Cormac McCarthy, Larry McMurtry, and more.
Critical Insights: The Woman Warrior by Linda Trinh Moser (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection, HU 56 .T24 2016, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus
ISBN: 9781682173947
Publication Date: 2016-11-04
Maxine Hong Kingston's The Woman Warrior: Memoir of a Girlhood Among Ghosts is, according to the Modern Language Association, the most taught text on U.S. campuses, featured in Literature, Asian American Studies, Asian Studies, Women's Studies, and Anthropology, as well as other departments.