It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 131 - American History I: Find Books
This course is a survey of American history from pre-history through the Civil War era. Topics include the migrations to the Americas, the colonial and revolutionary periods, the development of the Republic, and the Civil War.
Ideal for history majors, nonhistory majors taking history courses, as well as general readers, this book provides not only the primary documents and artifacts of ordinary people in history, but also annotations that help the reader put them into context and grasp their deeper meaning.
Covering the major monotheistic religions--Christianity, Judaism, and Islam--as well as selected Eastern religions and Bahá'í, Zoroastrianism, and Mormonism, this cross-cultural book offers excerpts of sacred texts and interprets passages to enable a deeper understanding of these religious writings.
Some of our ebook collections will allow you to checkout an eBook for use on your mobile devices such as a Kindle, Nook, etc, while others will allow online viewing only.
A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
Recently Added History Books
Salem Press ebooks
Dissent and Protest (1635-2017) by Aaron John GulyasDissent & Protest studies crucial documents from various protests, dissents, revolts, riots, and revolutions throughout American history, from the American Revolution to the Black Lives Matter Movement of today. More than eighty primary source documents are analyzed and discussed on issues including the American Revolution, Native American dissent, women's rights, worker's rights, abolition, slave rebellions, state rights, political and war protests, the Whiskey Rebellion, racism, poverty, and civil rights. Each work features a summary overview, defining moment, author biography, document analysis, and essential themes. An historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings further supports readers in understanding the broader historical events covered.
Milestone Documents of American Leaders, Revised Edition by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Paul Finkelman (Editor)This new four volume set pairs primary source texts with expert analysis by esteemed historians. Here, the lives of notable Americans are illuminated through an in-depth study of primary source texts that made them exceptional. From presidents, jurists, and legislators to influential private citizens both past and present, Milestone Documents of American Leaders features important primary source documents written by the people who shaped the nation-and crucial scholarly analysis to help the documents come alive.
Defining Documents in American History: 1910s by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)From 1910 to 1919, the United States saw its status as a world superpower escalate-a status confirmed by the end of World War I in 1918. This new addition to the Defining Documents series profiles these formative years in modern American history, providing careful, close analysis of over forty important documents from the era.
Call Number: General Collection, E 756 .A19 2016, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Defining Documents in American History: The 1970s (1970-1979) by Salem Press Editors; Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)This important resource provides students and researchers new insights into the 1970s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history. An historical timeline and bibliography of supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in this title considers the significant of document analysis for students and educators.
Call Number: General Collection, E 855 .A19 2016, Rowan-Cabarrus North Campus