Find Articles

Flipster - Online Magazines

Infobase American History
American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Infobase Ancient and Medieval History
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary sources, and more.

African-American Experience
Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African...
American Indian Experience
Access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, including videos, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources,...

Lewis and Clark Expedition
From May 1804 through September 1806, American explorers Meriwether Lewis and William Clark led an expedition through the vast territory between the Mississippi River and the Pacific Coast, much of which had been acquired by the United States in the Louisiana Purchase of 1803. The expedition members came to be known as the Corps of Discovery.

Lewis and Clark: Part 1 (01:45:16)
The first installment in Ken Burns’ documentary profile of the Lewis and Clark expedition details the creation of the Corps of Discovery and the mission’s initial phase, as well as its arrival at the Mississippi River, the Great Plains, the Rocky Mountains, and other momentous stages of the journey. Distributed by PBS Distribution. Part of the series Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery—A Film by Ken Burns. (43 minutes)
Lewis and Clark: Part 2 (01:44:46)
The second installment in Ken Burns’ documentary profile of the Lewis and Clark expedition details the mission’s continued challenges in the Rocky Mountains and its interactions with the Nez Perce tribe, as well as its arrival at the Pacific Ocean and the establishment of Fort Clatsop. Distributed by PBS Distribution. Part of the series Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery—A Film by Ken Burns. (43 minutes)

Search for articles on your topic in one of the following online databases.

CQ Researcher Online
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Life histories of former slaves compiled from 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
NCLive Link to History & Biography
Link to the list of History and Biography References on NCLive.

Military Database
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Vols. 1-5
Composed of five chronological Series spanning from 1684 to 1912, the AAS Historical Periodicals Collection is one of the premier digital libraries documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century. The scope of the collection is vast with over 6,500 full-text titles, featuring over 10 million pages of digitized content representing more than two dozen languages.
Political Science Database
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.