ECHS - Native American Research Assignments - HIS 131 - American History I - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Native American Conflict - 19th Century

American Indian Experience
Access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, including videos, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources,...

Plains Indian Wars
Topic Center from Infobase American History
Native-American History
Topic Center from Infobase American History

Infobase American History This link opens in a new window
American History database spans our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—and was developed and curated by leading scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.

Information from Credo Reference (free encyclopedia from the Library)

Sand Creek Massacre

Articles from the American Indian Experience Database

Sand Creek Massacre from American Indian Experience

eBooks

Videos

The Sand Creek Massacre: Seven Hours that Changed American History (2006) Run Time: 21:33 "On November 29, 1864, Col. John Chivington and 800 troops of the First Colorado Cavalry attacked a peaceful Cheyenne and Arapaho camp—massacring women, children, and the elderly. This program introduces the Sand Creek atrocity to viewers in a way that written texts and dramatizations cannot. It consists of oral histories passed down from firsthand accounts through the generations and movingly conveyed by descendants of Native American eyewitnesses. In addition, professional historians of the region and time period give background information on possible causes of, and twisted motivations for, the genocidal slaughter. Informative maps and an impressive array of archival photos are also included."
Sand Creek Massacre Run Time: 1:32:29 "Whites were brutal against Indians, attacking peaceful villages as well as warriors. We hear accounts of a Colorado company’s merciless behavior. Constant native retaliation proved that war was ineffective; the U.S. decided on treaties. ."
Sand Creek Massacre from the National Parks Service
Sand Creek Massacre
Primary Sources from newspapers. Available from Defining Documents in World History: Genocide and the Holocaust.

Articles from the American Indian Experience Database

Videos

The Great Tribes
For information related to the Black Hills War, start at segment 12: Peace Commission/Treaty of 1868.

Newspaper Articles

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

Search for Custer and then narrow search to 1860-70s.
See page 2 of The Charlotte Democrat July 10th 1876
See Page 2 The People's Press July 20th 1876

Websites

Little Bighorn Battlefield: National Monument Montana National Park Service
Fort Laramie Treaty, 1868 National Museum of the American Indian Transcript available on website.
Fort Laramie Treaty: Case Study Section from the Native Knowledge 360* Northern Plains Treaties: Is a Treaty Intended to Be Forever

Information from Salem Press ebook

Apache Wars

Articles from the American Indian Experience Database

Videos

Native American Wars: The Apache Run Time: 45:31 "For over 300 years the Apaches were remarkably successful, beating opponents who were wealthier, better armed and more organized than they were. Battlefield detectives work with historians to explore two battles in an attempt to uncover the secrets of success used by these native people."
Geronimo and the Apache Resistance Run Time: 56:33 "For decades in the 19th century, Apache tribes resisted the westward advance of the pioneers and the threat they posed to traditional ways of life. Fighting the longest was Geronimo—one of the most famous, feared, and misunderstood Native American warriors in history. Geronimo and the Apache Resistance, from the PBS American Experience collection, separates myth from reality in the tragic collision of two cultures with dramatically different views of the world—and of each other. It is an illumination of the mysteries of Apache power that made them so terrifying in battle yet so skillful in escaping disaster. In the words of the descendants of those Apaches, the film provides the long-awaited chance to tell their story as it has never been told."
Geronimo: We Shall Remain—America Through Native Eyes Run Time: 01:17:32 "This episode takes viewers back to February 1909, when the indomitable Chiricahua Apache medicine man Geronimo lay on his deathbed. He summoned his nephew to his side, whispering, “I should never have surrendered. I should have fought until I was the last man alive.” To angry whites, Geronimo had become the archfiend, perpetrator of savage cruelties. To his supporters, he remained the embodiment of proud resistance. To other Apaches, he was a stubborn troublemaker, unbalanced by his unquenchable search for vengeance. Geronimo and his tiny band of Chiricahuas fought on. The final holdouts, they became the last Native American fighting force to capitulate formally to the government of the United States."

Black Hawk War (Utah)
From American Indian Experience.
Ute resistance
From Atlas of the North American Indian.
The Walker War - Utah's Historical Markers
The Flight of the Utes
From the Wyoming Historical Society
The Ute Mode of War in the Conflict of 1865-1868
Dissertation from Brigham Young University.
Beginning in 1865, Ute chief Black Hawk went to war against the Mormon settlers of Utah territory
Article from Wild West magazine.

Nez Perce from the Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Long March of the Nez Percé
Nez Perce from the National Park Service
Chief Joseph
From the American Indian Experience
Battle of the Big Hole
From American Indian Experience
The Nez Perce War from American History database
Nez Perce War
From the Military Encyclopedia in Infobase American History database.

Useful Resources - American History I

American Indian Experience
Start HERE!!!!!
Access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, including videos, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources,...

This database is already broken up into time periods. There is a Pre-History section that covers through the 1600s and the Early Colonial Era, which covers 1490-1664.

Native-American History
Topic Center from Infobase American History

Regional Cultures of North America, Precontact-1600s
Topic page from the American Indian Experience database.
What was the population density of the native peoples of America prior to sustained contact with Europeans?
Article from the American Indian Experience
North America in the Age of Discovery (1500-1776)
Topic in Daily Life in America Database

The First Americans by Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: E 61 .F56 1992
ISBN: 0809494000
Publication Date: 1999-06-01

Arctic and Subarctic Cultures
Article from the American Indian Experience Database.

The Hunters of the Northern Forests by Time-Life Books Editors; Henry Woodhead (Editor)
Call Number: E 78.C2 H 85 1995
ISBN: 0809495708
Publication Date: 1999-06-01

Great Plains Cultures
Article from the American Indian Experience Database.
Daily Life for Plains Indian World
Smith, Craig P. "Introduction to Plains Indian World: Overview." Daily Life through History, ABC-CLIO, 2022, dailylife2-abc-clio-com.proxy154.nclive.org.proxy154.nclive.org/Topics/Display/1839043?cid=41

Encounters at the Heart of the World by Elizabeth A. Fenn
Call Number: E 99 .M2 F46 2014
ISBN: 9780809042395
Publication Date: 2014-03-11

Eastern Woodlands Cultures
Article from the American Indian Experience Database

"The northeastern region known as the Eastern Woodlands extends from the Atlantic Ocean westward to the Great Lakes area"

The People of the Lakes by Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: E 78.G7 P43 1994
ISBN: 9780809495665
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Unconquered by Daniel P. Barr
Call Number: E 99 .I7 B22 2006
ISBN: 0275984664
Publication Date: 2006-02-28

Southwestern Cultures
Article from The American Indian Experience Database.
Mogollon Culture
Article from the American Indian Experience database.
Anasazi Culture (The Americas, 3000 BCE–1500 CE)
Topic page from Daily Life Through History database

Southeastern Cultures
Article from the American Indian Experience Database.
Cahokia (The Americas, 3000 BCE–1500 CE)
Topic page from Daily Life Through History database.

From Chicaza to Chickasaw by Robbie Ethridge In this sweeping regional history, anthropologist Robbie Ethridge traces the metamorphosis of the Native South from first contact in 1540 to the dawn of the eighteenth century, when indigenous people no longer lived in a purely Indian world but rather on the edge of an expanding European empire. Using a framework that Ethridge calls the "Mississippian shatter zone" to explicate these tumultuous times, From Chicaza to Chickasaw examines the European invasion, the collapse of the precontact Mississippian world, and the restructuring of discrete chiefdoms into coalescent Native societies in a colonial world. The story of one group--the Chickasaws--is closely followed through this period.
ISBN: 9780807899335
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
Tribes of the Southern Woodlands by Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: E 78 .S65 T75 1994
ISBN: 0809495511
Publication Date: 1994-06-01

Werowocomoco and Montaup in the 1600s
Part of The Great Courses Series
Copyright: 2016
Runtime: 30 Minutes
more...less...
"Dr. Cobb demonstrates how connections were forged between Native Americans and newcomers as they incorporated each other into their worlds. In doing so, both cultures were transformed. You'll examine specific examples across the Northeastern Woodlands down to Werowocomoco to understand how the search for common ground began at first contact and still exists today."
The Native South and Southwest in the 1600s
Part of The Great Courses series.
Copyright: 2016
Runtime: 32 Minutes
more...less...
"Examine the cultures that existed prior to the Spanish Invasion, the struggle for power through Hernando de Soto's entrada through the Southeast, and the Pueblo War for Independence in the Southwest. Dr. Cobb introduces the Native American worlds that were born in the aftermath of these transformative events."
Iroquoia and Wendake in the 1600s
Part of The Great Courses series
Copyright: 2016
Runtime: 29 Minutes
more...less...
"Once Europeans arrived, the Native peoples of the Northeast were determined to maintain their autonomy, despite becoming more integrated with the newcomers. Focusing on the strategies and experiences of the Wendat and Iroquois, you'll understand how Native Americans transformed the European colonial project while preserving a measured separatism."

Suggested Databases

American Indian Experience
Daily Life through History
Infobase American History This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.

InterLibrary Loan Request

What to check out a book on another campus, or from a different library? As an RCCC student you can, and have the book sent to the RCCC Library location of your choice.

NMAI Smithsonian Resources

How Did Six Different Native Nations Try to Avoid Removal? Native Knowledge 360* Creation by The National Museum of the American Indian "Learn about the strategies that six American Indian nations tried to avoid removal. Afterwards select a case study and closely examine the sources that tell a story of removal."
The Trail of Tears: A Story of Cherokee Removal Native Knowledge 360* Creation by The National Museum of the American Indian "he Cherokee Nation was one of many Native Nations to lose its lands to the United States. The Cherokee tried many different strategies to avoid removal, but eventually, they were forced to move. This interactive uses primary sources, quotes, images, and short videos of contemporary Cherokee people to tell the story of how the Cherokee Nation resisted removal and persisted to renew and rebuild their nation. Explore this resource to better understand the impact of removal and how the Cherokee still celebrate and sustain important cultural values and practices."
American Indian Removal: What Does It Mean to Remove a People? Native Knowledge 360* Creation by The National Museum of the American Indian "his online lesson provides perspectives from Native American community members, documents, maps, images, and activities to help students and teachers understand an important and difficult chapter in United States history. Explore the vast scope of removal and its effects on Native Nations."
Northern Plains Treaties: Is a Treaty Intended to Be Forever? Native Knowledge 360* Creation by The National Museum of the American Indian "This online lesson provides perspectives from Native American community members, images, documents, and other sources to help students and teachers understand the difficult choices and consequences Northern Plains Native Nations faced when entering into treaty negotiations with the United States. Explore the intentions, motivations, and outcomes of two treaties: the 1851 Horse Creek Treaty and 1868 Fort Laramie Treaty."

HIS 131 - American History I: ECHS - Native American Research Assignments

New All-in-One Search

Native American Conflict - 19th Century

Useful Resources - American History I

Suggested Databases

InterLibrary Loan Request

NMAI Smithsonian Resources