It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biotechnology: Find eBooks
This guide provides links to some of our key biotechnology resources as well as a selection of biotechnology news and blog feeds. Please explore the tabs at the top of this guide and don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.
BIOLOGY TODAY AND TOMORROW is packed with applications that are relevant to your daily life. The clear, straightforward writing style, in-text learning support, and trendsetting art help you understand key biological concepts.
BarCharts' best-selling quick reference to biology has been updated and expanded in this latest edition. With updated content and an additional panel of information, this popular guide is not only an essential companion for students in introductory biology courses but also a must-have refresher for students in higher-level courses. Author Randy Brooks, PhD, a scientist and university professor, has a gift for making the complicated subject of biology easy to understand, from evolution to population genetics--without the fluff. In this new edition, you will find more coverage of the subject, including expanded sections on reproduction in animals, as well as helpful illustrations and diagrams, making this a study tool you won't want to be without.
Biotechnology for Beginners, Second Edition, presents the latest information and developments from the field of biotechnology--the applied science of using living organisms and their by-products for commercial development--which has grown and evolved to such an extent over the past few years that increasing numbers of professionals work in areas that are directly impacted by the science.
Biotechnology - the manipulation of the basic building blocks of life - is rapidly advancing in laboratories, raising serious issues for scientists and nonscientists alike. Who will decide what is safe? Who will have access to our personal genetic information? What are the risks? Biotechnology offers straightforward explanations of basic science and provides insight into these questions.
Frankenfoods, designer babies, Dolly the Sheep and Raelian fantasists: few subjects generate as much controversy and misinformation as biotechnology. This book takes the reader behind the headlines to examine the new laws on genetic-based technologies, who's making them, and why.
Biotechnology is a fascinating interdisciplinary field uniquely poised to take on some of the world's most complex problems. With this thesis at its core, Modern Biotechnology: Defining and Solving Human Problems takes a refreshing problems-based approach to exploring the field. Novice readers will come away with a broad appreciation for the significance of current and emerging biotechnologies-from regenerative medicine, to genetically enhanced crops, to biofuels.
As rapid advances in biotechnology occur, there is a need for a pedagogical tool to aid current students and laboratory professionals in biotechnological methods; Methods in Biotechnology is an invaluable resource for those students and professionals.
This book examines the competitive conditions affecting certain industries that are developing and adopting new industrial biotechnology (IB) processes and products. IB was defined for purposes of this study as the manufacture of liquid fuel and chemical products using enzymes, micro-organisms, or renewable resources. The book focuses on U.S. liquid biofuel producers and firms in the U.S. chemical industry.
Some of our eBook collections will allow you to check out an eBook for use on your mobile device (such as a Kindle) while others will allow online viewing only.
ABC-CLIO E-book CollectionHistory & literature e-books, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Credo ReferenceA premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
eBook CentralScholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Home Grown eBooks CollectionA collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
R2 Digital LibraryThe R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press eBooksCollection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Very Short IntroductionsVery Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.