Middle English (1066-1500) - ENG 241 - British Literature I - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Daily Life Through History

Daily Life through History
An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.

Middle Ages, 500-1000, Medieval Europe
Learn about family life, children, work, education, culture, and lots more with this database. Citations are included with the Cite Tool.
Middle Ages, 500-1000, Black Death
Learn about family life, work, education, sports, and much more during the time of the Black Death. Citations are included.
Emergence of Modern Europe, 1500-1700, The Reformation
Learn about culture, work, and much more during the Reformation. Citations are included.
Emergence of Modern Europe, 1500-1700, Elizabethan England
Learn about culture, housing, sports, leisure, and work in Elizabethan England. Citations are included.
London Bridge
Description of London Bridge and the importance of it during the Middle Ages through the Renaissance.

Infobase Ancient and Medieval History
Database that provides information about events in history as well as easy access to primary documents.

The Labyrinth
Resources for Medieval Studies
Teams Middle English Texts
Provides digital copies of Middle English texts.
Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
Writers from the Middle English period
List of brief informatino on writers for the Middle Period
Arthurian manuscripts in the British Library: the French tradition
The British Library has the largest collection of Arthurian manuscripts in England, with over 40 out of just over 500 that survive worldwide. They range from large, beautifully-illuminated volumes commissioned by princes or aristocrats (for example Royal 20 D. iv) to small, plain volumes made for lesser patrons (for example Lansdowne 757).