chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Climate Change: Find Articles

Climate Change

All-in-One Search

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

 

 Databases | Classic Catalog | Remote Access | Help                                

Suggested Keywords for Research

Global Warming • Emissions •Greenhouse Gas • Fossil Fuels •Sea-Level Rise •Renewable Energy •  Climate Changes • Greenhouse Effect •  Carbon Footprint • Earth's Atmosphere • Ecosystem • Ozone Layer 

e-Library- Starting Point for Research

undefined

Finding Articles - The Basics

If you're new to searching, or just want to do a quick search for information on a topic, try using our " All-in-One" search option located under our on our homepage. 

Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to limit, widen, or define your search.

 

Databases

Starting Point for Research

Click on the related topics around the word Climate Change for more related information.

Basic Search Tips

Unlike Google, library databases can't understand an entire sentence. So you'll need to break your topic down into the most important ideas - the KEYWORDS.

The keywords you use can have a profound impact on the results of your research. Using the “right” words will speed up the research process, while the “wrong” words can bring to it to a halt.

Example Topic: Women in the Military

Keywords: women and military;   military and minorities and women;  

Most words have synonyms that mean the same, or very similar, things. For each keyword in your topic, try to come up with at least one synonym. Not all keywords will have synonyms, but many do!

Example:

Keyword:                                                                 Synonym:  

Online dictionaries and thesauruses are very helpful for finding synonyms that you may not come up with yourself.

Most library databases have search tools built in. Try some of these: 
  • Subject: Think of subjects as official hashtags. Use them to find sources about that subject.
  • Date Range: Limit your search to sources published between specific years.
  • ‚ÄčPeer Reviewed: Limit your search to scholarly journal articles.
  • Full Text: Make sure all of the results are available to read in full.

You can evaluate any source using the 5 W's:

  • Who: ...wrote it? Are they an expert?
  • What: ...is the purpose of this resource?
  • Where: ...was this information published? ...does the information come from?
  • When: ...was this published or last updated?
  • Why: ...is this resource useful? ...is this resource better than other ones?

Too many results try 

Using the operator AND to find only sources that mention both keywords.

Example: 

This search will bring back fewer results than searching either keyword on its own.

 

Too few results

 

Use the “QUOTES” strategy to search for several words in a phrase, a specific person, and events.

" Construction Safety"

This will bring back results that only use that exact phrase                     

Background Information- Climate Change

What are Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly articles are articles that appear in refereed journals.  These are publications whose articles are peer-reviewed prior to publication.  This means that scholars in a particular subject area reviews the article before it is published and based on standard criteria, they deem it acceptable for publication, they ask for revisions, or they reject the publication.