It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Climate Change: an Encyclopedia of Science, Society, and Solutions [3 Volumes] by Bruce E. JohansenThis three-volume set presents entries and primary sources that will impress on readers that what we do--or don't do--today regarding climate change will dramatically influence what life on this planet will be like for untold numbers of generations. * Provides readers with a clearly written description of global-warming science and its role in shaping a body of knowledge regarding a worldwide issue that affects everyone * Suggests remedies for this serious problem, most notably a rapid rise in the implementation of wind power generation and a coming revolution in solar energy * Impresses on readers that what Americans and the citizens and governments of other nations around the globe do over the next decades will determine the future of this planet for many tens of thousands of years to come * Includes primary documents sourced from major scientific journals and from the many reports on recent climate change from governmental organizations, including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and World Meteorological Organization (WMO), both part of the United Nations; and the U.S. government's National Climate Assessment
Call Number: QC902.92 .C54 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
How Culture Shapes the Climate Change Debate by Andrew J. HoffmanThough the scientific community largely agrees that climate change is underway, debates about this issue remain fiercely polarized. These conversations have become a rhetorical contest, one where opposing sides try to achieve victory through playing on fear, distrust, and intolerance. At its heart, this split no longer concerns carbon dioxide, greenhouse gases, or climate modeling; rather, it is the product of contrasting, deeply entrenched worldviews. This brief examines what causes people to reject or accept the scientific consensus on climate change. Synthesizing evidence from sociology, psychology, and political science, Andrew J. Hoffman lays bare the opposing cultural lenses through which science is interpreted. He then extracts lessons from major cultural shifts in the past to engender a better understanding of the problem and motivate the public to take action. How Culture Shapes the Climate Change Debate makes a powerful case for a more scientifically literate public, a more socially engaged scientific community, and a more thoughtful mode of public discourse.
Publication Date: 2015-03-11
Recent Climate Change Impacts on Mountain Glaciers by Mauri PeltoGlaciers are considered a key and an iconic indicator of climate change. The World Glacier Monitoring Service has noted that global alpine balance has been negative for 35 consecutive years. This highlights the dire future that alpine glaciers face. The goal of this volume is to tell the story, glacier by glacier, of response to climate change from 1984-2015. Of the 165 glaciers examined in 10 different alpine regions, 162 have retreated significantly. It is evident that the changes are significant, not happening at a "glacial" pace, and are profoundly affecting alpine regions. There is a consistent result that reverberates from mountain range to mountain range, which emphasizes that although regional glacier and climate feedbacks differ, global changes are driving the response. This book considers ten different glaciated regions around the individual glaciers, and offers a different tune to the same chorus of glacier volume loss in the face of climate change.
Call Number: GB2405 P44 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
Melting Arctic Ice by Carol HandHumanity's impact on the natural world can have disastrous effects. Melting Arctic Iceshines a light on how climate change is affecting Earth's polar region. With abundant charts and diagrams and large-format photos, this title explores the science behind greenhouse gases, polar sea ice, and rising sea levels, and considers actions people and governments can take to try to improve the situation. Features include a flow chart showing the disaster's causes and effects, a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Home Grown eBooks CollectionA collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
R2 Digital LibraryThe R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Salem Press eBooksCollection of eBooks in Literature, Careers, History, Immigration, and Primary Sources.
Very Short IntroductionsVery Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.