Criminal Justice: Statistics

International criminal justice statistics from the BJS publications and the United Nations.

Prison population demographics and incarceration rates for over 200 countries.

Statistical profiles and international rankings of various criminal topics such as police officers, kidnappings, murder rates, etc.

Extensive links to U.S. and international "Statistics Collections" on criminal justice.

UN statistics focuses on drugs, human trafficking, corruption, terrorism and organized crime. Links to some full text documents and the annual World Drug Report.

The UNODC's data and analysis page including the following reports on many different aspects of crime, not solely drug offenses.

This site offers data from nations around the world. Statistics are on all aspects of criminal justce -- crime, crime prevention, firearms, juvenile justice, courst, etc. Links to criminal justice reports.

Statistical Information on a variety of issues can be accessed from this section. The statistics pages include data on special interest topics as well as trial court caseload data. You can also access summary information about court operations through links to the Annual Report, Quick Facts, and Statistical and Operational Summary

Community Corrections Offender Population Statistics. Annual Statistical Reports - Beginning Fiscal Year 1997-1998 to most recently completed fiscal year report. Research Bulletins - Quick statistics (yearly totals, averages percentages and trends) of Staff, Community Corrections offenders, Prison population, new admissions, etc.

The NC Division of Juvenile Justice is a resource for data by county on offenses, admissions to facilities and community programs, supervision cases, and more.

Formerly known as Drug War Facts, this updated version provides reliable information with applicable citations on important public health and criminal justice issues.

This site offers data on suspects and defendants from the Federal Justice Statistics Program database. Includes Compendium of Federal Justice Statistics.

Statistics available from 1995 - present.

Research data available from ICPSR, Bureau of Justice Statistics, and National Institute of Justice.

Data source for statistics on crime and punishment from the Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics.

Published annually since 1973. This compilation, produced at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center, has over 600 tables of data on criminal justice and related topics collected from over 100 governmental and private agencies.

Uniform Crime Reports, administered by the FBI, "is a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort of 16,000 city, county, and state law enforcement agencies" reporting on crime of which they are aware. Also included are Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Terrorism in the U.S. and other reports. Annual with supplements.

Statistical reports and data for many topics in criminal justice.

The Federal Bureau of Prisons website has information, including "Weekly Population Report," for prisons and correctional facilities in the United States.

Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."
Includes section on "Law Enforcement, Courts, and Prisons."

As of May 2024, the U.S. Census Bureau and the University of Michigan have released a joint project known as Criminal Justice Administrative Records System (CJARS). It is a nationally integrated infrastructure project that includes captures information about arrests and bookings, criminal court case filings, and terms of probation, prison, and parole.

This source also includes information about the Justice Outcome Explorer, a Census Bureau data project that measures the economic and health outcomes of those involved in the criminal justice system, and the Federal Statistical Research Data Center (FSRDC) network.