Bullying and Ageism - PSY 241 - Developmental Psychology - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Books and E-books on Ageism

Click on the titles below to access.

Psychology of Aging 101 by Robert Youdin
ISBN: 9780826130129

Publication Date: 2016-02-28

Written by a renowned scholar and practitioner of gerontology and aging, This is a concise, reader-friendly overview of key concepts of geropsychology, the psychology of aging.
Learning to Be Old by Margaret Cruikshank
Call Number: HQ1061 C78 2013

ISBN: 9781442213661

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Margaret Cruikshank's Learning to Be Old examines what it means to grow old in America today. The book questions social myths and fears about aging, sickness, and the other social roles of the elderly, the over-medicalization of many older people, and ageism.
Encyclopedia of Ageism by Erdman B. Palmore (Editor); Laurence Branch (Editor); Diane Harris (Editor)
ISBN: 9781135422943

Publication Date: 2016-05-06

The Encyclopedia of Ageism examines topics such as anti-aging, stereotypes, and the media--with numerous references for further information. This resource will increase your awareness about the many facets of ageism and provide you with a wealth of concepts, theories, and facts about ageism.
The Civil Rights Act and the Battle to End Workplace Discrimination by Raymond F. Gregory
ISBN: 9781442237223

Publication Date: 2014-08-06

On the fiftieth anniversary of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, Raymond F. Gregory evaluates our progress towards the full implementation of one of the law's key provisions: Title VII, which prohibits discrimination in the workplace.

Books and E-books on Bullying

Click on the titles below to access.

The Teacher's Guide to Resolving School Bullying by Elizabeth Nassem
ISBN: 9781784507855

Publication Date: 2019-10-21

This guide is essential reading for teachers looking for a comprehensive and accessible guide to tackling bullying.
In Safe Hands by Sheri Werner
ISBN: 9781610488099

Publication Date: 2012-05-11

In Safe Hands: Bullying Prevention With Compassion for All is a hands-on blueprint to helping schools, parents, and the community at large address and solve the problem of bullying.
Dealing with Bullying by Healey, Justin
ISBN: 9781921507540

Publication Date: 2011

Bullying is the deliberate desire by one or more people to hurt, threaten or frighten someone with words, behaviour or actions. Bullying can be verbal, physical, social or psychological and is one of the major issues facing young people today.
Bullying by Mathangi Subramanian
ISBN: 9780810890541

Publication Date: 2014-04-04

Bullying is a widespread problem that affects thousands of teens across the United States and around the world. Victims of bullying battle depression, anxiety, insecurity, and fear.
Cyberbullying by Nicole L. Weber
ISBN: 9781593327613

Publication Date: 2014-10-01

Weber and Pelfrey examine qualitative and quantitative data collected from middle and high school students in a large urban area regarding the use of social technologies in cyberbullying perpetration and victimization.
Perspectives on Bullying by Roland Maiuro (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826194626

Publication Date: 2015-10-23

This book, featuring acclaimed research articles on cyber, childhood, and workplace bullying from the peer-reviewed journal Violence and Victims, provides comprehensive coverage of bullying from expert researchers in the fields of psychology, psychiatry, sociology, criminology, counseling, and social work.
Youth Suicide and Bullying by Peter Goldblum (Editor); Dorothy L. Espelage (Editor); Joyce Chu (Editor); Bruce Bongar (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199950706

Publication Date: 2014-11-12
Beyond Bullying by Jonathan Fast
Call Number: BF575.S45F27 2016

ISBN: 9780199383641

Publication Date: 2015-11-02

The first book to integrate shame research into a single overarching theory* Why are some kids magnets for bullying?* Why do gay teens commit suicide four times as frequently as "straight" teens?* Why do we have more men and women in prison than any other country in the world?* Why are school shootings and acts of domestic terrorism on the rise?

Website Articles for Bullying

Ageism- RCCC Database Articles

Bullying- Rowan-Cabarrus Journal Articles

Bullycide Articles
Bullycide is a suicide directly related to being bullied.
Cyberbullying: An Unceasing Threat in Today's Digitalized World
College Student Cyberbullying: Self-Esteem, Depression, Loneliness, and Attachment.
Continued Bullying Victimization from Childhood to Young Adulthood: a Longitudinal Study of Mediating and Protective Factors

Librarian

Rachael Sampson

Links on Ageism

ABC News

Fighting Ageism- American Psychological Association

Links on Bullying

National Bullying Prevention Center
Founded in 2006,PACER's National Bullying Prevention Center actively leads social change to prevent childhood bullying, so that all youth are safe and supported in their schools, communities and online. PACER provides innovative resources for students, parents, educators, and others, and recognizes 6 . bullying as a serious community issue that impacts education, physical and emotional health, and the safety and well-being of students.
National Voices for Equality, Education and Enlightenment (NVEEE)™
To prevent bullying, violence, and suicide among youth, families and communities through direct service, mentoring and prevention education.
Pew Research- Bullying

PSY 241 - Developmental Psychology: Bullying and Ageism

New All-in-One Search

Books and E-books on Ageism

Books and E-books on Bullying

Website Articles for Bullying

Ageism- RCCC Database Articles

Bullying- Rowan-Cabarrus Journal Articles

Librarian

Links on Ageism

Links on Bullying

Elibrary Database Searches

Streaming Video