RCEC - American History Biography Project - Early College and CCP - Research Guides at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

American History Biography Project

On this page, you will find resources to try and help point you in the right direction as you work on your American History Biography Project

Things you will find:

Potential components for your project
Recommended library databases to help with research
Specific books, articles, videos, etc. that might help you with your project.

There were many different people/places/events you could choose from for your project.

To give you somewhere to start your research try clicking on one of the topics below which will take you to an article on that topic.

There were many different people/places/events you could choose from for your project.

To give you somewhere to start your research try clicking on one of the topics below which will take you to an article on that topic.

There were many different people/places/events you could choose from for your project.

To give you somewhere to start your research try clicking on one of the topics below which will take you to an article on that topic.

Programs/websites you can use to make a presentation:

Canva
Canva has templates for presentations, including mobile friendly presentations. Presentations can be saved as PDF documents.
Canva also has templates for things like worksheets and graphic organizers.
Google Slides
Remember you can add links to things like arrows that will take you to specific slides.
Prezi
Prezi is an online presentation maker.
Wix.com
Free Website Builder

DigitalNC
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.

Infobase American History
This database focuses on American History and contains articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Infobase Modern World History
This database looks at world history from the mid-15th century to the present and contains and contains articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
American Indian Experience
Access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, including videos, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources,...
African-American Experience
Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African...
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Some of these articles go all the way back to the late 1700s and early 1800s. Try looking for articles related to your person.
Daily Life through History
An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.
Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Smithsonian Institute

DigitalNC
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.

North Carolina Archives - Digital Collections
Presidential Voices Podcast
Listen to the voices of the Presidents! In these historical clips from the Libraries' collections, you'll hear Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton talk about serious policy issues with their advisors, address the nation, or have conversations with friends and family members. You'll hear the presidents speak both publicly and privately about issues of their day.
South Asian American Digital Archive
Library of Congress
Digital Public Library of America
National Archives

Newsbank-Black Life in America
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into
centuries of African American history, culture and daily life.
Newsbank-America’s News
America’s News: 2021 Edition features national, regional, and local news content that delivers multiple perspectives on any issue, person, or event across the country. It is the most comprehensive domestic news resource available. Newspaper database.

Use the CRAP Test

It is challenging to determine whether information from the Web is credible and can be trusted. Is it factual? Biased? Relevant to your topic?

Here is a handy acronym to help you determine if a source may be CRAP.

CURRENCY: How recently was this information published/posted? Can you find a publication date?
RELIABILITY: Is the information supported by evidence? Can it be confirmed by other sources?
AUTHORITY: Who wrote the information - are they an expert or knowledgeable in their field? (i.e. For health information, did a doctor or nurse write it?)
PURPOSE / POINT OF VIEW: Why was it written? To sell something? To sway opinion? Is it biased toward a particular point of view?

Off-Campus Database Access

Begin by visiting the Library website and clicking on the desired resource. You should be prompted for your credentials when needed.

You will click the button and log in using your Rowan-Cabarrus user credentials (same username and password as your BlackBoard Account or School Outlook Email Account). This process may require authentication with your selected method.

Trouble Logging in? Get detailed information and troubleshooting tips regarding online access.

InterLibrary Loan Request

What to check out a book on another campus, or from a different library? As an RCCC student you can, and have the book sent to the RCCC Library location of your choice.