Research Guides: Early College and CCP: Historical Research

Types of Resources

You need a credible source for your general interest or to do some background reading to get keywords	Newspapers, magazines, credible websites, documentary films
You need to do general research a topic (eg Civil War nurses, the Aztecs, French Revolution, Joan of Arc)	Books, ebooks, reference materials (encyclopedias, secondary or tertiary sources)
You need a scholarly article for an assignment	Online Databases from Library's page
You need a primary document	Primary Documents

History Related Library Resources

Over these tabs you will find some suggested library resources. This is not an exhaustive list of everything the library has to offer. It is a list designed to help you get started with your research.

African-American Experience Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African...
American Indian Experience Access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, including videos, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources,...
Daily Life through History An archive of everyday life in all areas of the world from ancient times to the present day as shown in reference articles, illustrations, posters, cultural and government documents, speeches, letters, and personal narratives.
Infobase Modern World History Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Infobase Ancient and Medieval History Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary sources, and more.
Infobase World Religions World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today.
ProQuest Central This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
Newsbank-America’s News America’s News: 2021 Edition features national, regional, and local news content that delivers multiple perspectives on any issue, person, or event across the country. It is the most comprehensive domestic news resource available. Newspaper database.

Credo Reference A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Online Resources

Over the next few tabs you will find links to online resources. These resources do not come from the library. This is not an exhaustive list of credible online resources, it is just to help give you somewhere to start.

Smithsonian Magazine
Smithsonian magazine and Smithsonian.com place a Smithsonian lens on the world, looking at the topics and subject matters researched, studied and exhibited by the Smithsonian Institution, including science, history, art, popular culture and innovation -- and chronicling them every day for our diverse readership.
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, Diplomacy, and History from Yale Law School
Yale Law School’s Avalon Project provides a database of documents such as laws, treaties, declarations, constitutions, speeches and statements from ancient history to the 21st century. Documents are organized by time period and by topic.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 749,089 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Euro Docs
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
British Pathe
About British Pathé – Who We Are
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Check out these resources for more information on determining credibility, evaluating sources, and media literacy.

Evaluating Sources and Media Literacy Tutorial
This is the library's tutorial on evaluating sources and media literacy.
Media Literacy
This is our library's Media Literacy research guide: